Home

Anyone who knows me, well or otherwise, will tell you with a fair bit of certainty that I am probably not the type of girl who likes glitter. For the most part, this is true – my previous nail polish colour choices (see here and here) are telling. dom has always been the funky-nail-colour half of this dynamic duo.

All this is precisely why I surprised myself when I picked up China Glaze’s Some Like It Haute and fell, inexplicably, in love.

Some Like It Haute is sass personified within a bottle of nail polish. It’s one of China Glaze’s six offerings under the Eye Candy 3D Glitters Collection for Winter 2011, and its name is a clever bout of wordplay on the title of an old Marilyn Monroe movie called ‘Some Like It Hot’.

Some Like It Haute boasts unabashed masses of super-fine charcoal gray, blue-gunmetal and black glitter interspersed with larger round silver-holographic glitter particles, all suspended in a clear base.

Three coats are needed for perfect opacity. I was initially a bit put off after the first coat, as it looked a little sparse, but two layers later, Some Like It Haute really showed its true nature. After a day or so of tossing between loving it and not loving it, I have come to the definitive conclusion that this polish is really, really pretty on.

Here’s what three coats looks like under natural daytime light:

Perhaps it’s not the most work-appropriate nail colour in the world, but so far I’ve gotten away with it, and it looks as good when juxtaposed against a nice pair of black slacks as it does against a faded pair of jeans for casual days or nights out.

There’s a surprising amount of depth to Some Like It Haute, and I attribute this to the ingenious melange of colours that make up this shade. Charcoal gray + blue gunmetal + black + silver, with a hint of hologram? What an inspired choice 🙂 It just looks so nice. 

Here, take another look, this time with a little help from bounced flash:

Considering how much glitter is suspended in the clear base and how thick it seems to be when you shake the bottle around to check, this polish applied with surprising ease and smoothness. Dry time is pretty decent as well – a couple of minutes between coats is just about right, and I found that with a little attention and care, no clumping of glitter particles occurred while layering coats on. Given the formula, though, I am anticipating the need for a drop or two of thinner to help this polish along a bit in the future.

If I had to identify one gripe I have with this polish, it has to be how gritty it feels on the nail after application. I topped Some Like It Haute off with two layers of Seche Vite, hoping for a slightly smoother finish – no dice, still bumpy to the touch. Not a terribly big deal though.

I purchased this polish from the good folks at Smoochiezz, where I picked up my other China Glaze polish, the pink and triumphant Trophy Wife.  Some Like It Haute only set me back SGD 8.00, for which I am very grateful indeed. It’s the little pleasures in life, isn’t it? 🙂

Has anyone else out there tried Some Like It Haute? Let us know!

PS: Want to know how to remove glitter polish? Check out dom’s handy-dandy how-to post for all you ever needed to know 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: China Glaze Some Like It Haute

    • Hey Emi! Glad you like it too 🙂 I’d love to try it layered over black or a charcoal grey, actually. And we don’t have Wet n Wild here in Singapore 😦

    • Hey Ling! 😀 It really is quite stunning on nails, really eye-catching without being over the top 🙂 Go get one! And it was less of a pain to remove than I thought. Most of it actually came off on its own, very cleanly.

Leave a comment