Home

Happy Thursday, ladies! πŸ™‚

Remember my Bangkok haul post? Today I’m going to kick-start reviewing the products I bought during my trip, starting with Revlon’s Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rose and Shine.

Looks pretty in the picture (and just as pretty in real life, I assure you) – but is it as pretty on the lips?

This lovely little lipstick is a subtle, ultra-sheer dusty soft rose when applied. However, one layer of this colour doesn’t do much for my rather pink lips – two layers, however, does the trick just nicely. For a better idea, take a look at the swatches below:


The colour is even and smooth, and applies with great ease (Revlon says it’s silky – which it is, and creamy – which I didn’t really think it was, but it’s not a matte lipstick so that hardly bothers me).

Also, because Rose and Shine is a relatively neutral shade of rose, I reckon it would work well on many Asian skin tones. I don’t think all girls will appreciate the pearlescent finish of this lipstick, but I love it. The delicate pearl shimmer in Rose and Shine is silvery and mild, unlike IsaDora’s Wet Gloss in Golden Cherry with its more pronounced golden sheen.

This lipstick is quite moisturising, all things considered – keeps my lips soft and comfortable for a good few hours after application even without a layer of balm underneath. Revlon says we have their LiquiSilk formula with mega-moisturisers to thank for that!

The LiquiSilk formula is also meant to seal in colour – unfortunately, this is where Rose and Shine falls a little short. Because it’s so sheer and lightweight, it doesn’t really last through a few drinks, let alone a meal. Staying power wise, I daresay it is on par with Chanel Rouge Coco Shine – but I suspect that with other more pigmented, less sheer colours in the Super Lustrous line, this might not be the case.

Pour conclure, I wouldn’t recommend Rose and Shine for those of you who love your lippies bright, but I definitely would for those of you who want a lip colour that is easy, breezy, and everyday wearable.

I bought my tube for a wallet-friendly SGD 7.70 (yes, really) at Changi International Airport’s duty-free cosmetics and perfumes section -but it retails at about SGD 17.00 at your local pharmacy (often, there are discounts, so keep an eye out for those).

I also found that Changi (and Suvarnabhumi Airport in Bangkok) had a far, far wider array of Super Lustrous shades available than any pharmacy I’ve frequented in Singapore. According to the Revlon website, Super Lustrous comes in 72 (yes, you read right) shades – so I reckon if you hunt diligently enough, you’ll find one that strikes your fancy!

PS: Revlon also has a limited edition Super Lustrous Lip Balm collection out in the US, but I haven’t yet seen it in Singapore… does anyone know where I can find one of these babies?

4 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rose and Shine

    • You should indeed, Aney πŸ™‚ As mentioned, though, airports seem to carry a much wider selection than pharmacies, so next time you fly, keep your eyes peeled πŸ™‚

      Also, loving your reviews as well, keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Review: Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in 012 Cherry Ice « belle demoiselle

  2. Pingback: Quickie Review: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipsticks in MLBB Shades! | belle de moiselle

Leave a Reply

