Home

With so many sunscreens out in the market, it’s hard to find one that suits your skin without breaking the budget or your skin out. One thing you’ll notice about me is that I tend to get things that I perceive are of better value and good quality, which admittedly is a very hit-or-miss kinda thing when it comes to beauty products. However, I did find a product, or rather a range of products, which really comes in handy especially when I’m feeling a bit strapped for cash. Here’s my review on Clinelle’s sunblock, its UV Defence SPF20 in Tinted Natural Shade.

Clinelle UV Defence SPF20 Tinted Natural Shade - Photo: Author's Own

Clinelle has two sunblocks – one in the tinted natural range as shown above and the white-colored range. I can’t remember off the top of my head, but I’m pretty sure the white one has a higher SPF. What I really liked about Clinelle’s sunscreen is that it’s non-comedogenic, has no sd-alcohol, has antioxidants and added moisturizing effects, protects against both UVA and UVB rays, and is PABA-free. PABA refers to Para-Amino Benzoic Acid and is a commonly used UVB absorber. However, PABA can be an allergen to some people, so this Clinelle sunscreen is hypoallergenic to an extent.

The color itself doesn’t look too outstanding when you first slap it on. It’s a little ashy-gray initially but as you gradually spread it out, it starts spreading on quite sheer and thus lets your natural skin tone come through.

A little ashy beige. I'm have light-medium colored skin, with yellow undertones. Photo: Author's Own

The texture itself is quite creamy and moisturizing – it feels like I’m putting on an extra layer of moisture. What’s surprising is that it doesn’t create more oiliness on my oily skin and all skins really do benefit from additional moisture.

Rubbing it in - notice that it becomes more sheer as you spread it out. Photo: Author's Own

The coverage is also quite sheer, so it does help in getting better skin tone. However, it’s not heavy-duty like BB cream, so it won’t act as a concealer or foundation.

All absorbed in. No patchiness, difference in color or oiliness. Photo: Author's Own

In short, this is a pretty good budget buy if you’re looking for sunblocks that give you minimum protection, help even out skin tone and doesn’t clog your pores. It’s really refreshing when you put in on, mainly because it’s really creamy and light in texture. If you’ve got dry to normal skin, your skin will definitely love the additional moisture it provides. Those with combo to oily skins will like how it doesn’t add more oiliness. It feels really comfortable on my face and my budget : ).

Take a trip down to your nearest Guardian, Watsons, Caring or Robinsons. Personally I find Guardian to have fresher stock (I’ve checked out Guardian and Watsons in MidValley, KLCC and 1U), but just check the manufacturing date and you’ll be fine. What I’ve got up there is the old packaging, but the ingredients are still the same and it’s made in Switzerland.

Only one size available: 50ml at RM43.88 when on discount. Price can range from there to around RM50.00

* Clinelle’s a local brand, but it’s made overseas in the US, France and Switzerland. I believe that the distributor that brings in Bioxil and Dermalogica is the same distributor that brings in Clinelle, so it’s possible that the ingredients are quite similar. A colleague of mine tried Clinelle on my suggestion and said that the smell was quite reminiscent of some Dermalogica products (she’s a Derma user). I’ve used the whole range before and maybe I’ll review them sometime. Am personally quite happy with Clinelle when I’m feeling a bit strapped for cash.

3 thoughts on “Review: Clinelle UV Defence SPF20 Tinted Natural Shade (Sunblock/Sunscreen)

  1. Pingback: Review: Clinelle Deep Cleansing Gel « belle demoiselle

    • Thanks Kania for stopping by! Yes, I’ve tried the compact and reviewed it as well I think. The link is belledemoiselle.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/review-clinelle-oil-free-smoothing-compact-spf18/ 🙂

Leave a comment