Home

Hi everybody – I’ve been AWOL for a while and I’m really sorry. Will get back to posting my long-overdue reviews soon. I thought I’d share this tip on beauty ingredients to avoid that I found online – it may be useful for you but don’t go on a rampage and start tossing things out just yet! I’ve included my thoughts in blue – do let me know what you think. Truth be told – you’d probably need to be using these ingredients in very high concentrations and for a long period of time, but it doesn’t hurt to have some extra knowledge on what to be wary of : ).

12 Ingredients to Avoid:

  1. Coal tar – used to treat eczema, scalp conditions and psioriasis. Is a known carcinogen. The last item I used that contained coal tar was Neutrogena’s T-Gel shampoo back in Australia. I had and it helped some.
  2. Diethanolamine (DEA) – lathering agent in soaps and shampoos. Can create a carcinogen when mixed with other chemicals and is found in other forms such as Cocamide DEA, Oleamide DEA, and Lauramide DEA. Quick check on my products – mostly found in my shampoos but it’s usually lower down in the list of ingredients, so the concentration isn’t that strong IMHO.
  3. Formaldehyde – Drying and irritating, can lead to asthma or cancer. Not too sure about finding this in any of my stuff, but this would definitely be something I don’t want in my products!
  4. Parabens – Linked to breast cancer, but the US FDA does say that it’s safe in low doses. So now I know what paraben-free means to an extent. Apparently it’s present mostly in make-up. I recently bought some Guerlain Meteorites powder and one of the components includes methylparaben…hmmm. I’ll be reviewing these soon as well once I’ve used them for a while. Parabens are a preservative and are used for their fungicidal and bactericidal properties, and have also been used as food additives.
  5. Phenylenediamine (PPD) – found in hair dyes and linked to cancer – apparently  there’s a higher incidence of cancer amongst cosmetologists and hair dressers as they have the most exposure to PPD.
  6. Phthalates – family of chemicals including DEHP, prohibited for use in baby products. Can damage the kidney, lungs and liver.
  7. Sodium laureth sulfate (SLES) and sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) – can be irritating to skin and used as a lathering agent. I love my stuff to lather and I know that there’s tonnes of SLS and SLES in my items.
  8. Toluene – often found in hair dye and nail polish. Can cause dizziness and headaches – and after repeated exposure – miscarriages and birth defects. I’m quite surprised at this, so I’m not sure. Anyone have problems?
  9. Fragrance can also be a word to substitute for other harmful ingredients.
  10. Triethanolamine (TEA) – often used to create products that are “gentle” but may irritate the skin, and build up in your body to become toxic.
  11. Hydroquinone is a skin-bleaching chemical found in skin-lightening products, as well as creams that lighten age spots.  A possible carcinogen,  is banned in Japan, the E.U., and Australia, and can lead to a skin condition called ochronosis, which causes spots and bumps. I don’t like whitening products, so I guess I’m safe there.
  12. Lead was found in 22 leading lipsticks, and the highest levels were found in trusted drugstore brands: Cover Girl, Revlon, and L’Oreal. Lead can build up in your body over time and be passed to your child through breastfeeding, which can lead to a host of problems including developmental delays and learning problems.

You can find the full article here from Blisstree.com.

What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

