Home

Hello lovelies!

So this never happens to me. From being based in Melbourne, Australia, to Dubai, the United Arab Emirates, I’m usually among those who would see new collections and new product launches arriving late. If they ever arrive, then they get sold out. Imagine my surprise and delight when I happen to stumble across the launch of a new product, quite by accident, happening at my local Sephora. So it was without any reviews or pre-knowledge that I quickly grabbed one of Huda Beauty’s brand new Rose Gold Textured Eyeshadow Palette.

Everyone (and I do mean everyone) was gathered around the Huda Beauty display at the Dubai Mall Sephora. It was, however, the usual par of course as Huda Beauty had launched their liquid lipsticks and lip contour pencils fairly recently and no one (aka me) can get within 5 feet of the display stand usually. So I ducked my head around (huffed about the fact that I can’t get near the counter again) and watched a lady next to me slowly slide a palette out of its cardboard packaging and felt myself flinch. What is that??!! I had not heard of a new eyeshadow palette coming out, it didn’t look like anything I have seen and the shades reminded me of the Anatasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette that everyone raved about. So I stood around and finally asked one the SAs to give me a palette and ran away to pay for it.

Huda Beauty

The Huda Beauty Rose Gold Textured Eyeshadow Palette retails for USD$65 for 18 eyeshadows. The description provides that it is a ‘palette of highly saturated mattes, chrome pressed pearls and 3D metal shadows’. The outer packaging  is a simple cardboard sleeve with a photo of dark eyes with heavy lashes lined in gold. I was obviously drawn immediately to the packaging, it’s so very beautiful which was why I was disappointed to see that the palette itself pulls out with a clear transparent cover. In some ways, if you don’t particularly care for the packaging, then this transparent cover makes it extremely easy to look through your collection and find the palette and colours (however I keep it in its sleeve).

Huda Beauty

At first glance, the palette itself looks gorgeous, with its mix of warm neutrals and those intense pinks, reds, purples and bronzes. I was extremely interested to see how those foil shadows would perform as they looked like the Stila’s Magnificent Metals Foil Finish eyeshadows, but there was nothing to suggest that you had to use these with any mixing liquid. The top five eyeshadows seem to be of this formula, followed by two more traditional glitter/satin ones and everything else is matte.

Huda Beauty

Unfortunately the eyeshadows swatched better than they performed. The metallics were pigmented but chunky with a lot of fall out, while the mattes were hard and yield little colour. Some of the mattes worked with brushes but the 3D metals did not want to adhere smoothly at all. In fact, when I try to pat some on with my finger, it basically looked like a glitter explosion and the skin around my eyes looked really crepey.

I’ve tried this palette a few more times since the video but couldn’t really make it work for me. The colours which I was most excited about (those plummy reds) just look quite dry and muddy against my skin tone. I’m so disappointed! I know others who love this palette and think the colours are amazing, but it’s just too much work.

Huda Beauty

Watch all the swatches and my first impressions below!

Leave a Reply

