Home
NailsInc Gel Effect Polishes

NailsInc Gel Effect Polishes

I picked up these two NailsInc polishes last minute as part of my recent London haul. To be honest I don’t really need any more new polishes and while I have heard lots of good stuff about this brand which is quite popular among British you tubers I didn’t feel the need to grab any….although of course, knowing me, I changed my mind last minute and thought hey why not, let’s just try one or two. Of course by then it was nearly time to leave for the station and I just couldn’t find a full stand anywhere! In the end I trekked nearly the whole of Oxford street again before finding these at John Lewis.

NailsInc Uptown

NailsInc Uptown

The gel effect line is apparently formulated with ‘revolutionary plasticiser technology’ to create an intense gloss unlike standard nail polish. This is what the website states:

“The Gel polish formulation contains a very high level of solid pigments leading to flawless application with no streaking or dragging. The Gel formula glides on effortlessly and the extra wide brush ensures easy application. The coverage from the Gel polishes is exceptional and the plumping effect levels out any imperfections in the nail.”

NailsInc Beaufort Street

NailsInc Beaufort Street

Beaufort Street is a bright red with a slight hint of pink. The line actually has quite a few very similar shades of reds with no swatches available, so it was rather hard picking this out, but I like how bright and juicy this looks. It’s definitely not subtle but the formula makes the ‘in your face’ shade look quite chic and clean. I have no idea what this plasticiser technology is, but it’s freaking brilliant, one coat is fully opaque with a smooth glossy flow, and two coats makes it all look plush. It does really come across as a gel polish without all the effort. Unfortunately the lasting power isn’t as great, I found minor chipping and tip wear by the second day.

NailsInc Uptown

NailsInc Uptown

I didn’t expect to love the second shade so much. Uptown is a surprisingly beautiful nude with just enough brown and pink tones in it to look like an extension of my hands and make them look perfectly clean and manicured. Like the first, this polish is very easy to apply with a slightly thick (but not gloopy) formula with an opaque colour and no streaking or bubbling. Compared to other swatches, this colour does pull warmer on me. The glossiness can’t be beat however, and I simply cannot stop admiring my nails. Longevity is better but that may be due to my paying attention to liberally applying the topcoat this time around.

NailsInc Uptown

NailsInc Uptown

NailsInc polishes do retail quite expensively at 15 pounds each, a far cry from the AUD$2.50 polishes I used to start my collection with! The Gel line is also quite limited, with about 20 basic shades and some fashion colours thrown in, but I had also found that this line is difficult to track down. I really like the gel effect however, so there may be new ones coming in the future!

Leave a comment