Home

I will start this entry with a confession: I love my Shu Uemura eyeliner (need a reminder? Look here), but for ages, I have been intrigued by the mystery that is Bobbi Brown’s Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner.

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner - Photo courtesy of bobbibrowncosmestics.com

I have heard nothing but glowing reviews of this liner – friends, beauty blogs and critics alike have raved about its ease of application, wide range of colours in both matte and shimmery shades, how it stays on without smudging for hours and hours (even in spite of heat/sweat/humidity), and just how darn good it looks. Whose curiosity wouldn’t be piqued? I knew I couldn’t resist.

It took me a little while to finally get around to testing it out for myself, so I headed to my local Bobbi Brown counter and asked the friendly makeup artist there to introduce me to the product. And now that I have tried it on and seen it on myself, I can certifiably say that I love it.

Read on for reasons I am shamelessly coveting this gorgeous eyeliner!

Before I start explaining myself, here’s photographic evidence of the liner on and at work:

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner in Sepia Ink

As you can see in the first photo, I don’t have that much eyeliner on. It’s quite a thin stroke but is still dark and consistent. I also have on Bobbi Brown Everything Mascara (which you can find out more about by clicking here). I think the liner looks beautiful on – not at all smudgy or heavy, and it gives my eyes just enough definition (i.e. warm and bright eyes as opposed to fierce). Big bonus points too for making my brown eyes appear even browner!

The colour I have on is called Sepia Ink, which is the brown shade depicted here on the right:

Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eye Set (without brush) - Photo courtesy of Google Images

The makeup artist who helped me told me that this is a matte shade, very natural and flattering to all skin colours, good for those who prefer a subtle, polished and fuss-free look. The eyeliner also comes in a variety of other shades, including the conventional black and brown, and more intriguing colours like Ivy Shimmer Ink (a very dark and mysterious, glimmering emerald green that I quite love),  Black Plum Ink (dusty deep almost-black purple shade, I imagine it would be a hit for evenings out).

It retails in Malaysia for RM95 a pop, but sells for only 21USD in the States (join me as I grumble in exasperation at the price differential). Also, for best results, you should use the eyeliner with the Bobbi Brown Ultra Fine Eyeliner Brush which has a tapered, quite firm (but not prickly, huzzah for well-made makeup brushes!) brush tip, perfect for controlling thickness or thinnes of the line you’re drawing. The brush costs a whopping RM100 (again, cheaper in the US but let’s not dwell). I hear that mastering the use of the brush takes a little practice, but whoever said looking good was easy?

Interested to check out the magic for yourself? Go to Bobbi Brown, smile at the makeup artist on duty and ask for a bit of help, and I reckon they will be more than delighted!

Finally, a note to you jetsetting girls out there, you can actually purchase a Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner duo gift set at most duty-free cosmetics counters at any international airport. I forget how much it cost, but it definitely saves you a few bucks buying duty-free. The set contains a mini ultra fine eyeliner brush (shorter handle than the normal brush, which could make it a bit more difficult to master using) and two pots of eyeliner in black and sepia. I am still kicking myself for not buying it the last time I flew, but hopefully this entry inspires one (or more) of you to give it a go!

13 thoughts on “Tested & Coveted: Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Gel Eyeliner

  1. oh i think pot eyeliners are so troublesome. do a review on pen eyeliners! ive got a fren using them and says they’re the easiest thing ever!

    btw. do u want me to get anything for ya from the airport duty free shop when i get back in july?

    • Hey Cheryl!

      I wrote about my Shu Uemura pen eyeliner as one of our earliest entries, so do check that out if you haven’t!

      And thanks for the offer, really appreciate it 🙂 I’ll be in JB though not KL, very inconvenient to get the stuff passed about – and I should be traveling again at some stage so no worries! Thank you so much though!

      – ksuan

  2. They have duty free Bobbi Brown at KLIA? Be still, my little palpitating heart. I know what I am going to be bugging my sister for when she goes to UK next month.

    • Hey Eli!

      Thanks for swinging by – I’ve found duty free BB at KLIA once (aaaaaaaages ago though), Hong Kong and Changi. And even if BB is no longer at KLIA, I’m certain they’d have it in duty-free at Heathrow so your sister can still grab some for you!

      – ksuan

  3. Pingback: (Preliminary) Review: Bobbi Brown Natural Finish Long Lasting Foundation SPF 15 PA++ « belle demoiselle

  4. Pingback: First Look: Bobbi Brown Fall 2010 Collection – Denim and Rose « belle demoiselle

    • Hi Kerri,

      Thanks for reading! I haven’t actually bought one of them yet, but based on all reports from friends who do have them, they don’t dry out that fast. I suppose it would in a drier climate, but no complaints from any friends who live in Malaysia/Singapore thus far. Hope that helps!

      – ksuan

  5. Pingback: First Look: Bobbi Brown’s Pretty Powerful Collection « belle demoiselle

  6. Pingback: ksuan’s Skin Profile + All About Ro-Accutane | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

