Home

dior star foundationI really didn’t like this foundation when I first used it. I bought it unseen- it was brand new on the shelves and there haven’t been many reviews, so I have no idea what I was thinking of. The test patch on the back of my hand was light and dewy and the description appear to suit what I generally look for:

The complexion is instantly more luminous and visibly more even.
A new generation of hollow silica beads captures and diffuses light in a correcting halo with no shine. At the same time, colour-filter pigments neutralize colour imbalances to recreate the perfect light.

The complexion is purified and more dazzling.
Anti-“light-trap” skincare ingredients help reduce the appearance of dark areas, pigment spots and redness.

So how does it fare? Read on!

The only products from Dior I have tried before are their Addict lipsticks and I like those. I found their formulation really nice to wear and overall modern. Similarly, the packaging with the Diorskin Star is just lovely- a hefty glass bottle with a black cap and the name etched in silver. I do wish there were less writing on the front of the glass, but that’s a minor gripe.

I went for the shade 033 which is described as an apricot beige, a surprisingly good match to my skin. The SA attempted to sell me on a lighter shade, saying it’s meant to be illuminating…psh.
dior star foundation 3The product comes out a lot thicker than expected, and slightly tacky. It reminds me sort of the Nars Sheer Matte Foundation which I love, but with a much lighter coverage. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m using a buffing brush with this, but I don’t like the way it goes on my skin- it’s just not as smooth as I want it to be. I’ve now seen other reviews of people using a sponge like the beauty blender and it apparently result in a clean even coverage, which is certainly not something I’m currently experiencing! Instead it catches on dry patches, and doesn’t quite cover the greyness around my mouth and dark under eye circles. Alright it sounds like I absolutely dislike this foundation, but that isn’t true…it’s just not my favourite.

I think this foundation will work really well on people with clear complexions who just want a sheer coverage and just want to even our their skin tone. A light hand is needed, perhaps working in layers to build up the sort of coverage you like. I tend to want easy throw it on foundation that looks great no matter how I threw it on, so this takes a little effort to look good.
dior star foundation 4It’s also perfumed, a sweet floral, a little reminiscent of the YSL Touche Eclat. It’s slightly strong for my taste but definitely better than the funky smell from the Nars foundation. I wish they would make foundations with no scent…..like Benefit….I’ll have to go back and check but I think I am a fan of Benefit’s scentless skin bases…if they have a scent it must be quite subtle.

Overall, would I repurchase? Unlikely. It was also fairly expensive at 240 dirhams or USD 50.
I would recommend it for gals and guys who don’t require coverage and have well moisturised skin.

Leave a Reply

