Home

I’m a little bit of a lipstick lover (only a mild understatement, really) and have been wanting a Lipstick Queen lippie for the longest time. Well, lipstick dorks in Singapore rejoice: Lipstick Queen is finally available in Singapore, at Escentials, Paragon Orchard. Cue high-pitched squealing.

And with that, I made my first Lipstick Queen purchase – hello there Jean Queen!

Also, I must send my thanks out to Rinnah and dom for keeping me company during that first fateful encounter with the Lipstick Queen collection, and for stopping me from buying everything in sight.

This is what the makers of Jean Queen have to say about it:

The ultimate shade to wear with denim as it perfectly offsets the blue in the fabric and lights up your whole face. Over the last 20 years of designing lipsticks and glosses, Poppy was often asked, “What is the perfect shade to wear with jeans?” so she decided to create it.

  • Suits all skin tones, ethnicities, ages and jean styles
  • It is a gentle step up from nude, restoring natural youthful beauty to the lips without being overbearing
  • Available in two formulas – a lipstick and a lip gloss. The lip gloss is creamy with absolutely no stickiness. The lipstick is sheer and moisturizing
  • Contains moisturizing vitamin E and shea butter plus emollient aloe vera gel

I think that Jean Queen, for me, was a serious case of lipstick love at first sight. Those of you who frequent this blog will know all too well that I like my MLBBs, and Jean Queen just seemed like a perfect addition to my burgeoning collection of MLBB shades. So far, Jean Queen has not let me down.

Jean Queen swipes on as a sheer, glossy, cheerful shade of rose pink that enhances your natural lip colour while brightening the entire face. My lips look naturally fuller with a swipe of this on, and I like that a lot! It glides on smooth and easy, and is has the moisturising properties of a balm without feeling heavy, slick, or sticky on.

Shade-wise, I’m not exactly sure how to explain to you how it looks on me, because it inevitably looks a little different on everyone. This video will show you what I mean:

As one would expect from a sheer lipstick, staying power is a little on the short side – about 2 to 4 hours. But this is something I’m willing and happy to deal with – it’s just part of the sheer lipstick game, really 🙂 Jean Queen does leave behind a subtle stain as it wears off, though, which I do like.

Packaging-wise, I adore the bright blue metallic tube that houses this lipstick. It’s sturdy (true to character, I’ve dropped this a few times already, but the tube bears no visible signs of damage) and stands out among the typical black or gold lipstick tubes, making me want to reach for it more.

So my first foray into Lipstick Queen’s world has gone well. Jean Queen occupies a permanent spot in my everyday makeup bag now, and I don’t think she will be dethroned for a while (and even if she is dethroned, I think she will be replaced by another Lipstick Queen lipstick! Oops).

Jean Queen set me back SG$ 32, and more Lipstick Queen products (including Saint lipsticks, Sinner lipsticks, Oxymoron lip and cheek tints, Big Bang Theory lipglosses and Chinatown chubby lip pencils) is available in Singapore at Escentials, Paragon on Orchard Road (between SG$ 32 and 35 a pop); at Myer departmental stores in Australia (about AU$ 26 a pop); and throughout the US and UK in selected pharmacies and department stores. Admittedly, regardless of where you may be purchasing Lipstick Queen, this puts them way out of the budget price range – but sometimes, it is worth forking out for a fantastic product. This is certainly one of those cases.

PS: Since Jean Queen was such a favourite, I ended up returning to Escentials and buying another Lipstick Queen shade that is a little brighter and spunkier – in fact, I’d say she’s Fly 😉 Review forthcoming!

2 thoughts on “Review: Lipstick Queen in Jean Queen

  1. Pingback: Review: Lipstick Queen Butterfly Ball in Fly | belle de moiselle

  2. Pingback: Review: Lipstick Queen Medieval | belle de moiselle

Leave a Reply

