Home

Hello ladies, hope you’re having a good start to the week! Today I’ll be sharing my thoughts on Catrice’s Defining Blushes.

IMG_1047

Let me just put it out there before we get into this review that I am a very big fan of Catrice as a brand. I think their products are well-made, finely milled, and extremely affordable. I am a big fan of their eyeliner pencils and eyeshadow singles, and I feel just as strongly about their blushes. I love them so much, in fact, that I purchased two, both of which have become regular features of my morning makeup routine.

The Catrice website describes their blushes as follows:

The ultra-fine, highly-pigmented powder blush with vitamin C and E spreads easily, sets fresh accents, emphasizes your cheekbones and models the contours of your face. Top marks for a perfect finish.

IMG_1049

060 Rosewood Forest is a plummy, muted matte berry pink that looks pretty harmless and borderline dull in the pan. A little on the cheeks, however, goes a long way. The flush it gives is very natural – much like the pink glow you get in your face after you’ve been out and about on a nippy, chilly day. This makes it a highly versatile, multi-occasion blush that works for the office and also for nights out. Because it’s so pigmented, however, you need to be light-handed with application, especially if you’re fairer skinned. The upside is I think this shade would work well with a whole variety of skin tones, including darker or olive tones.

IMG_1050

010 Toffee Fairy reminds me so much of the constantly craved Tarte Clay Amazonian Blush in Exposed, except (so much) cheaper and slightly lighter in colour. A slightly shimmery blush with warm golden-brown-pink undertones, Toffee Fairy goes on the cheeks like a glowy, sunkissed, cheekbone-accentuating contour. With this, you don’t need to highlight or bronze – it’s a three-in-one product that adds lots of dimension to the face all on its own. I will never understand why it was in the bargain bin, but am surely not complaining about this fortunate find. As it is a little light, it may not show up on darker-skinned ladies.

Unfortunately these two shades are no longer in production, but Catrice recently launched a new range of blush colours. I am already eyeing two of them: 020 Rose Royce, which is one of those gorgeous all-purpose, no-nonsense pinks, and 080 Sunrose Avenue, which is a beautiful coral-peach shade with golden undertones (think Nars’ Orgasm but less glitterazzi).

These blushes are finely milled, with a clean texture – no chunks, flakes or grit. I find that my Real Techniques blush brush picks it up and distributes it across the cheeks quite evenly. Also, these blushes last throughout the day without problems. I find that at about 6 hours they start to wear off a little, but this is to be expected as I don’t use a primer under my face makeup. Overall, I am largely impressed by their staying power. Make no mistake that these are high-quality blushes that pack a real punch despite their understated sturdy clear plastic packaging.

At full price they retail at S$ 6.90 a pop – which is an utter steal in and of itself, but on sale you can often stumble upon them at over 50% off. So far, I have only found Catrice products sold at Guardian in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

