Home

Here’s something a little out of the ordinary: how often does belledemoiselle review high-end bath and body products? There’s a first for everything, so welcome to the blog Laura Mercier Almond Coconut Milk Creme Body Wash! 

laura-mercier-almond-coconut-milk-creme-body-wash

Photo thanks to AGBeauty

Before I get into this review, I’d like to disclaim that I didn’t actually purchase this body wash – I received it on account of my wonderful mother, who got it as a gift-with-purchase one day while shopping. She liked the scent, but not enough to keep it, so she passed it on to me. So thanks Mummy!

Here’s what Laura Mercier says about this body wash:

Inspired by the comforting scent of almond and coconut, this gentle body wash creates a creamy lather that will leave your skin feeling smooth and moisturized.

Almond Coconut Milk is a warm, rich fragrance with powdered sugar, vanilla extract and a hint of cinnamon. Includes notes of vanilla mousse as well as vanilla meringue.

Housed in a sleek, super-light, frosted-plastic cuboidal bottle with a silver dispensing bottle cap, this body wash is luxe and lets you know straight away. Snap the dispenser open and you are instantly hit with the swirling intertwined scent of almond, coconut, and vanilla. It’s quite sweet and lovely, but may be too cloying for those who prefer fresher, greener, or more oceanic scents.

A little goes a long way, a 20-cent sized pool in your palm lathers up nicely (without giving off that overly-SLSed sensation, despite SLS being the second ingredient on the bottle’s label) and works for the whole body. It also rinses off very clean, leaves no discernible residue on the skin, and doesn’t dry skin out in any way.

Post-shower, this body wash genuinely leaves you smelling delicious – in a giant-frosted-almond-and-coconut-cupcake sort of way. As the scent is quite strong, it lingers noticeably on the skin after showering – often for up to a couple of hours if you’re in a nice, dry, cool environment. So if you’re into that, this product is definitely for you. At this stage, I’m not completely sure if going to work smelling like a baked good is appropriate (or what I really want to smell like at work!), so I use this body wash at night before going to bed as a relaxing, pampering treat.

Pour conclure, would I recommend this body wash? Not off the bat; I wouldn’t even be using it if not for the serendipitous circumstances that led it to my lap. I find the price prohibitive and the scent not what I would go for if I were picking something out on my own, but am I happy to have it in my shower for the end of long days where I just want a hot shower smothered in girly sweetness before going to sleep? Definitely.

A 200ml bottle of Laura Mercier Almond Coconut Milk Creme Body Wash retails at SG$ 58.00. That is about as hefty a price tag as they come for a little bottle of body wash, so unless money is truly no object for you, I wouldn’t recommend purchasing. However, if you’re happy to splurge, go right ahead and invest in this high-quality, luxurious body wash!

Also, if you’re not into almonds or coconuts (or smelling like cupcakes), Laura Mercier makes bath and body products in a host of alternative scents, including the decadent-sounding Creme de Pistache, the also-delicious Creme Brulee, and the spritzy-sounding Verbena Infusion.

4 thoughts on “Review: Laura Mercier Almond Coconut Milk Creme Body Wash

    • I agree with you completely, Lyn. Would love to give the others in the range a try, but the price tag is too prohibitive! 😦

Leave a Reply

