Home

For a long while, I applied blush to my cheeks with a dinky little Sasatinnie brush with a Barbie pink handle. It was bought under duress, as my Ecotools blush brush had fallen apart at the ferrule the day before (Entirely my fault because of lousy brush care. Boo. Kids, if you love your brushes, wash and dry them properly and try to dry them upside down as much as possible!).

A few weeks ago, I’d had just about enough the Sasatinnie brush – it was starting to lose bristles at an alarming rate, losing its shape, and worst of all, making my blush look patchy and overdone when applied. At this point I’d decided to get a new blush brush and had my sights on the oh-so-famous Real Techniques blush brush by Sam and Nic Chapman of Pixiwoo.

realtechniques

I now own this awesome brush thanks to dom, who took me to Guardian Plus at Takashimaya and showed me that Real Techniques brushes are now available in Singapore (hooray!). I’ve also spotted more Real Techniques brushes and brush sets at other Watsons and Guardian outlets, so we can rest assured that the invasion of good brushes at pharmacies/drugstores has definitely arrived in Singapore 🙂

So here is what Sam and Nic say this brush is meant to do for us:

Contour and define cheeks for flawlessly blended, high-definition results:

  • look pixel-perfect even in harsh light
  • ultra-plush, synthetic bristles are hand-cut and 100% cruelty-free
  • self-standing for easy storage
  • extended aluminum handle is light and easy to use

Here are a few things I love about this brush so far:

  • The domed shape really works for blush application, and double-duties up perfectly for contouring, highlighting, and bronzing
  • The bristles are so soft, dense and lovely, and they pick up the right amount of blush for single-cheek application; hurray to minimal makeup mistakes during application because of good tools!
  • The brushes wash and rinse off easily; I don’t need to work too much cleanser into the bristles to dislodge colour and cleanse it out thoroughly, and;
  • After washing, the bristles don’t lose their shape – in fact, the bristles don’t go floppy during the washing process, which is fantastic

However, I must disclaim that it’s only been a few weeks since I picked up this brush, so these observations are preliminary. Let’s see if it holds up over the coming months with more protracted use and washing! So far, I am a very happy camper.

The Real Techniques blush brush retails at SG$ 18.00 at local pharmacies. This is, admittedly, a major markup from the US$ 9.00 retail price. But if you’re not in a huge rush to get a new brush, you can purchase Real Techniques brushes on iherb.com at US prices.

2 thoughts on “Review: Real Techniques Blush Brush

  1. I ❤️ mine too! 😍
    And best thing is they stand on the countertop when I’m applying my makeup – no need for me to find a plastic cup to rest them in!

    And if you have anyone coming in from the States, they are considerably cheaper when bought online from their site (they’re not even cheap in the UK – which is odd considering the duo are British).

Leave a Reply

