Home

This US visit, I am being housed by family in a lovely little apartment just outside of the city. As this is the apartment that all extended family stay at when we visit – and there are a lot of us in the family – over time, the bathrooms invariably become host to a whole cornucopia of random (unfinished) body care products.

Here’s a short rundown of the ones that I’ve been using for the past week.

Suave Professionals Almond + Shea Butter Shampoo and Conditioner

IMG_0258

Winter-to-spring weather in the American northeast can be pretty dry and unforgiving, so instead of using my usual clarifying or clear shampoos, I’ve been using this moisturising shampoo and conditioner duo to keep my hair from turning into hay. So far, so good – hair seems reasonably happy bar a few kinky bits that just happen when the air is dry, and these products smell divine. That being said, I think this rich formulation would be too weighty to use in a tropical climate.

Also, holy mother of sodium laureth sulfate, I have never used a shampoo that lathers up this rapidly and richly in my life. For that reason, I’m glad I won’t be using this in the long term.

Olay Body Ultra Moisture Body Wash with Shea Butter

IMG_0259

 

This body wash has been a real treat for my skin in this dryness. It’s rich, creamy, and rinses clean without leaving residue or stickiness on the skin. As with most Olay products, it has a distinctive scent that hovers between floral and soapy that I’m ambivalent about.

Aveeno Positively Radiant Exfoliating Body Wash

IMG_0260

 

Arguably one of the best drugstore exfoliating body washes I’ve come across! I love everything about this from the fresh and calming scent to the little blue microbeads. This stuff manages to buff off dead skin cells without being abrasive. Plus, it rinses off extremely clean and doesn’t leave scrubby bits on the shower floor. If I could haul a box of it back to Singapore with me, I probably would. Little shoutout to Aveeno – please join the Asian market!

Origins Jump Start Stimulating Body Scrub

 

IMG_0261

Smells utterly refreshing, energising, and wakes you up in the morning? Check. Is thick and consistent so you don’t need to use much product each time? Check. Gentle exfoliation power that doesn’t irritate the skin? Check. Not overly foamy? Check. Price tag? Okay, maybe that is not quite so friendly, but with all the other boxes ticked, I’m not complaining.

PS: Sorry the tube is a little grotty – the cap is broken and doesn’t hold the product in properly!

Will be back in Singapore next week with more posts to come. Thanks for reading, and to all those celebrating, have a blessed Easter Sunday!

Leave a Reply

