Home

Hello everyone! So sorry for the prolonged period of silence over the last several weeks – and thank you SdV for keeping the blog running at full steam with her posts!

Just a quick friendly update on what’s taken up all my time, hence the absence in the blogosphere.

End of Graduate School

grad school

I finished my Masters! It’s been a long and sometimes arduous 1.5 years but it is finally over, and dom and SdV will now be spared my incessant complaints about the aches and pains that come with (altogether voluntary) pursuit of higher education. Well, at least until I decide to do a PhD (I’m sort of kind of kidding, ladies)!

I’ll be commencing my new research position in early January. As much as I don’t think I am destined for academic greatness, it seems that research does continue to call out to me, so for the time being, that’s where I am nesting 🙂

Seoul for Christmas

seoulSubwayMap

Upon completing graduate school, my sister and I whisked ourselves off to Seoul, South Korea, for a week of stuffing our faces with every jjigae we could get our grubby paws on, fighting crowds at Myeong-Dong, and freezing our tushes off in wintry weather.

Seoul was a wonderfully vibrant and exciting city with hints of old-world charm everywhere, tucked away in small neon-lit alleyways housing small, delicious-smelling family-run restaurants.

Beauty-wise, Seoul gave me a lot to think about beyond the endless slew of makeup and skincare shops. South Korean conceptions of beauty, observed most starkly via the pervasive prevalence of perfectly rhinoplastied noses and carefully crafted double eyelids among twentysomething and thirtysomething women deserves an entirely separate writeup. Look out for a big fat post on Seoul, with photos, in the coming weeks.

And for those of you who know me and my North Korean curiosity, I made it to the Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) and stepped onto North Korean soil! More on that in the bumper Seoul post to come.

For the time being, hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and that you all ring in 2014 with great joy and optimism 🙂 See you in the new year!

Leave a Reply

