Home

maybelline mascara 1

My Lancome Hypnose died so it’s time to turn to a new mascara! I’ve heard good things about Maybelline’s The Falsies mascara and who knew they have like 50 different versions! Mine is the Volum Express Waterproof Black Drama which promises:

The most dramatic false lash fab volume! 
• Patented Spoon brush reaches lashes from corner-to-corner, while Black Drama formula fills in every gap. 
• Matte black lashes from corner-to-corner. 
• No gaps from any angle. 
• Contact lens safe and Ophthalmologist tested. 
• Waterproof; also available in Washable formula.

First up the packaging is simple and easy to grip and the wand isn’t too long (unlike the hypnose) so there’s less chance of getting smeared product on my cheeks. The brush is a little weird, it’s a wide slightly curved wand with many short plastic bristles and the thing about it is that it is super bendy and flexible. I think this means the wand  bends against the lashes easily instead of depositing too much product.

The overall effect however isn’t dramatic or have that false lash look which was kind of what I was expecting based on the name.  While it holds up curls really well, it wasn’t particularly lengthening or volumizing, my lashes just look darker but still very natural. My lashes felt non-clumpy or crunchy which is a definite bonus.

Here are my natural lashes (straight up just woke up in the morning)

maybelline the falsies without mascara

And here are they with Maybelline the Falsies.

Maybelline the falsies mascara

While I like this mascara well enough I don’t know what I’m doing wrong! It is actually one of the most natural looking ones I’ve tried, great for daytime use but not exactly the super lash effect promised!

It retails for AUD$19.25 at Priceline.

Leave a Reply

