Home

I admire all the beauty bloggers who have commitment to their art (yes, blogging is an art). I’ve been in a rut for the longest time – uninspired, and I thought it might be good to explain the lack of Dom ’round here.

Moving to Singapore has been exciting but it comes with personal sacrifices. My work has taken up my life and effectively broke my brain of any and all cognitive function; the moment I leave work, I just want to passively absorb instead of actively create. This is not the place to talk about the personal issues, but I do have them too. Additionally, I’ve been wanting to be more minimalistic about my life. I’ve moved twice already – once to Singapore, and once in Singapore (the first place I lived in was owned by a grumpy landlady, so I decided to move for the sake of my sanity). Moving is not fun, and I realized how much crap I have. How do you talk about all that you own?

image
This is my dresser. There are so many things on this. Of course other bloggers and women have more than I do, but this is getting too much. Also, did I mention that due to the damn humidity, my dresser and my cupboard gets mildew? I have to clean it out EVERY. MONTH.

image This is behind my dresser mirror. I didn’t bring all of my items from KL to Singapore. I have three times the amount back in KL compared to in Singapore.

image
Bee kindly donated the drawer to me. It has items in it.

I’m not suggesting that I am going to stop blogging. I feel overwhelmed and I don’t know how to balance out my life to include blogging. It’s like, too much work + too much beauty stuff + too many personal issues, what can I do? I’m even losing my hair!

I hope I’ll get back into it – and get inspired again. For now, I’m deeply grateful for Ksuan and SdV for covering and maintaining the blog.

Hope we all have a good week ahead 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Blogging Rut

  1. I feel ya. I’m in the same boat with work and STUFF. Everywhere I look I’m surrounded by so much stuff that I feel physically and mentally overwhelmed. Everyday I wish that I could start over in an empty room. 😛

    • I think after a while, having a lot of stuff is tiring instead of fun. That’s where the swapping or giving or throwing out come into play. I’m trying to empty out as much as possible too.

  2. ditto that..even without work at the moment, just sorting through all the stuff after moving back to Msia is rather overwhelming..hopefully we’ll haul each other back on the bandwagon soon? *hugz*

    • Hugs. Yeah definitely. In a way I’m glad I didn’t invest in a camera yet. I wanted to last year but since I rely on my phone camera 100%, the camera would have gone to waste.

  3. when the time is right you will be inspired. I havent been blogging very long (actually a year in a few days) but I understand how easy it is to get into a rut when life can become overbearing. When you start again you will feel clarity, dont push it as your posts will suffer.
    perhaps you should invest in a humidifier, dont leave it on when your near it. Good luck with settling into a new routine!
    Steph

    • Hi Steph, thank you for your kind words. I need to remember to get an electric dehumidifier since I rely on the boxed ones with crystals. Mildew is no joke. If only my landlords had bothered to invest in proper furniture.

Leave a Reply

