Home

clq_7WCP_250

So it’s been a few months of using the Clinique Moisture Surge CC Cream SPF 30/PA+++ in Natural Beige, and I think I’m ready to share a reasonably objective view based on n=1 🙂

I’m not a huge fan of the BB/CC cream hype. In the end, I don’t believe they are a true substitute for good skin care – they are makeup products that should be treated as such, and we should consider their benefits in light of them being something you wash off your face before you to go bed at night. And I firmly subscribe to the belief that a product by any other name is just that, and the most important thing is how well it performs its purported task!

Never mind the BB/CC/DD (they all start to sound like bra cup sizes after a while, no?) cream naming, purpose, and functional confusion rant, here’s what Clinique has to say about this product:

  • Formula BB/CC Cream
  • Coverage Sheer to Moderate

One simple step for glowing skin. Lightweight formula instantly colour corrects a range of complexion concerns – redness, dullness, sallowness – so all you see is a healthy-looking glow. Oil-free hydration and sunscreen mean a more flawless look tomorrow, too.  Each versatile shade is appropriate for a range of skin tones and undertones.

I know beauty blog queen Paris B isn’t a fan of the Clinique CC Creams that she tried, but I have to beg to differ in a big way.

Here, take a gander at what it looks like right out the tube, and then swiped out once.

cccream

I find that the shade match is pretty good, in my case at least 🙂 Natural Beige is a nice, neutral-leaning shade that fuses well with my skin tone and doesn’t leave me looking washed out or grey. Coverage is sheer to moderate, just as I like it. I don’t have perfect skin by a long shot, but I prefer sheer to moderate coverage and a light foundational product because I like letting my regular skin come through – and as superficial as it may sound, I like my skin to have some breathing room under my makeup 🙂

Secondly, this CC cream has a gentle dewy finish that I love. I have a naturally oily complexion that tends to look a bit flat and one-dimensional when I use makeup products with a strong mattifying effect, and this CC cream manages to avoid that entirely. I do have to apply it in an air-conditioned environment and let it set for a couple of minutes, though. It doesn’t react to heat and humidity very well in the first instance, so the train ride to work every morning is a bit frustrating (The sweat! The heat! the crowds! I can feel my face melting!). However, once I get into work and its air-conditioning power of Scandinavian winter proportions, I blot lightly with a sheet of tissue paper, and all is well – no excessive sloughing of product/colour, while keeping complexion looking dewy fresh.

I also appreciate that this cream isn’t sticky, tacky, or drying. Because it has a Moisture Surge base, I find that it keeps skin hydrated throughout the day. A minor disadvantage of this is that you do need to blot a fair bit, because it’s not heavy on the oil control side, but I can deal with that 🙂 The sun protection factor is a bonus. Also, it doesn’t oxidise over time – yay!

Its consistency is dense when you squeeze it out of the tube, but don’t be alarmed! It spreads nicely and I find that patting is the best way to make sure this cream goes on smoothly, evenly, and cleanly. I’ve used this CC cream very often (4 or 5 days a week) for two months or so now and there’s still about 75% left in the tube, which goes to show that a little goes a long way.

My hands down favourite thing about this CC cream is its ability to kill redness in a flash. That was what ultimately sold me on the product. It’s a real complexion saver on days when I have healing zits with residual soreness/redness/swelling, or acne scars that are not completely healed and still reddish underneath the skin, or erupting pimples that I want to minimise the appearance of. A very small amount of CC cream, gently patted into the skin and then spread out evenly with fingertips after moisturising, does a great job of almost eliminating the red patches and evening out my skin tone to create a cleaner, brighter canvas.

This is a great product if you’re after a healthy glow to your skin. Could it offer more coverage? Perhaps, depending on what you seek, but for my purposes and preferences (again, n=1, ergo a case study, ergo not representative or generalisable to the wider population!) this CC cream is a keeper. I would strongly suggest going to a counter to swatch it and give it a try for yourself!

I bought my 40ml tube at Changi Airport for SGD 42.00, but it retails at Clinique counters Singapore-wide for about SGD 50.00 (or slightly more?), I do believe. It also sells in Malaysia for MYR 120.00 per tube.

Clinique Moisture Surge CC Cream SPF30/PA+++ comes in several different shades, but I’ve only seen Light, Light Medium, Medium, Natural, Natural Fair, and Natural Beige in Singapore.

2 thoughts on “Review: Clinique Moisture Surge CC Cream SPF 30/PA+++ in Natural Beige

  1. Thanks for the link, ksuan but I’ll stand corrected on these Clinique CC Creams. The Fresh Pink & Fresh Peach ones are pretty much just primer. Not worth checking out. I eventually picked up one of the tinted ones in Light (or was it Fair?) and that one isn’t bad. It does a good enough job for light makeup days and is fairly commendable. Never got round to blogging it haha! 😀

Leave a Reply

