Home

I owe this discovery to my friend The Queen, who is an engineer by day and benevolent ruler by night. I saw her wearing it one evening and she looked so classy, glamorous and feminine that I immediately thought, I need to find out what this lady has on that pout! At first, I didn’t think the shade would work on me because she has a significantly darker skin tone than I do. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself really digging Revlon’s Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick in Really Red once I tried it out on myself.

300

This shade has been called an El Cheapo dupe of the MAC cult classics, Russian Red and Ruby Woo. I haven’t done a side-by-side swatch comparison myself, but from the photo below that I borrowed with full credits to Makeup Box shows you what I’m talking about.

tumblr_m7ysm4fV1y1qh70jmo3_400

Credits to Makeup Box

As you can see, Russian Red pulls a little cooler and Ruby Woo pulls true red. Really red is a teeny weeny hint warmer, but I would say it is closer to Ruby Woo than to Russian Red.

As an MLBB devotee, I was only brave enough to wear this daring colour at a big hens night party (because if you can’t wear red lips on a hens night, when can you?), over a layer of Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Precious to even out the red pigment.

reallyredReally Red pulls an attention-grabbing, feisty fire-engine red with a warm undertone against my yellow-toned skin. It also made my teeth look brighter. The photo will show you what I mean. 🙂 Cool reds normally make teeth look really white – and this warm shade didn’t exactly make my teeth look sparkly Colgate standard, but it did help bring out some brightness.

This matte shade went on surprisingly smoothly. Also, as is often the case with a solidly built matte lipstick, staying power was impressive. I only needed to touch up once, and we were out dancing, partying, and indulging in silly hens night activities for a good eight to nine hours. And once Really Red wears off, your lips stay stained red, which looks pretty good in and of itself – and I imagine a slick of gloss over the red stain would look awesome too (will try this next time).

I am really happy with this purchase and look forward to more special occasions to warrant rocking the red lip – although some may argue that one never needs an occasion to do so (right Paris?)!

I bought Really Red at the airport for a mindblowing SGD 7.00. Ladies, take my word for it, buy Revlon at the airport – it’s the best thing ever. Otherwise, you can get them at your local pharmacy for SGD 17.90 (or if you’re lucky and catch them on sale, 20 to 30% off!).

Leave a Reply

