Home

revlon-just-bitten-kissable-balm-stain-precious

I bought this Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Precious a fair while ago but never quite got around to writing about it for the blog, so here it is at long last!

Here’s what the website says it is:

It’s a pampering balm fused with a lightweight lipstain in an adorable chubby crayon. Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain gives softer, smoother lips with a perfect flush of color that lasts hour after hour. The gel formula comes in 12 vibrant shades that match any look or mood.

As you can see from the photo, this balm stain is riding the (very profitable, ahem) wave of chubby sticks that Clinique (Chubby Sticks for lips + lips intense + eyes, whatever will come next?) built a lot of momentum for. It comes in a convenient two-way twistable (i.e. it twists both up and down) crayon packaging that is great, but doesn’t visually set it apart from the competition.

In terms of performance, it goes on nice and smooth like pretty much all other Revlon products I’ve tried. It is reasonably pigmented but not as balmy as its Clinique counterpart, and despite being a “balm”, I found that it tended to dry my lips out a bit after a while, so a bit of balm was needed to balance this out. I did, however, enjoy its minty scent and taste, as I am a sucker for all things mentholated (from lipsticks to Tiger Balm/Deep Heat Rub, no joke).

I swatched this balm stain at the pharmacy and it looked great under the glow of fluorescent lights, but I was completely silly and should have known better. In natural light, I realised that I can’t wear Precious on its own unless I am having a really Good Bare Lips Day (i.e. when I wake up and my lips are just a dazzlingly natural shade of flushed, healthy pink that shines through with a light layer of Precious over it). As my usual non-morning person, perma-sleepy self, wearing Precious alone makes me look a bit tired and washed out, so I tend not to use it as a standalone product.

What I really, really like about this balm stain, however, is that Precious, as far as a neutral nude shade goes, is what I like to call The Great Unifier. It manages to, quite remarkably, create pretty much the perfect neutral nude canvas for the application of any other colour over it.

If you want to wear a bright classic red like Revlon Super Lustrous Matte Lipstick in Really Red or MAC Russian Red, I have found that the best way to wear it such that you give off the red that you see in the bullet is by applying a layer of Precious on your lips first, waiting for it to set for a few minutes, putting some clear balm (like Nivea Med Protection SPF15) over it, and then applying the red lipstick with a brush – bam. A quite perfect, lasting red pout. I tried it at a friend’s insane hens night a few months back and my lips stayed fire-truck red from 8pm to 4am with only one touch-up post-meal, and what a sweaty and busy night that was.

I would strongly recommend this to all of you who like to wear bright/bold lip colours and want them to really last and stand out. Precious will really help anchor your bright lip from the roots! I’d also recommend this balm stain for women who can rock a true nude look.

These balm stains can be found at most local pharmacies across Malaysia, Singapore and Australia. Prices are about MYR 40.00/ SGD 20.00 / AUD 18.00 if I recall correctly!

Leave a Reply

