Home

imageWoah, exciting-ness. Thank you Tine for the beauty tag! Here are my top 5 makeup products I’d pick in a pinch. I wear these 5 products every single day for work, so you know that I ain’t lyin’ ;).

imageI used to be a huge believer in Bourjois’ Healthy Mix Serum. Everyone loved it, everyone blogged about it. Sad news? It’s been discontinued and now replaced – my first impression swatches weren’t favorable. Ksuan was with me and while it appeared to suit her, I had orange streaks reminiscent of badly applied self-tanner. Plus, Healthy Mix Serum only came up to 53 in Singapore – one shade lighter than my face. I got the original Healthy Mix instead at no. 54 and I haven’t looked back since. Of course, if I had 10 products to list, I’d also put in my concealer pick but even without concealer, the coverage is light-medium and buildable. Still a favorite and a cheapie at SGD27 when on special (psst…ASOS sells it for a measly SGD14+ on special).

I need to set my foundation due to my oily skin, and I found myself a cheap replacement for my usual Laura Mercier powder. Initially I hated it because it turned my skin into an oil slick (oy!) but the Revlon loose translucent powder eventually stopped acting up and now it actually works. I bought it for about MYR40 odd, which makes it much cheaper than Singapore’s.

imageAhh…on the left, that’s what the Chanel packaging was hiding. I have Paris B to thank for that, due to one of the several #evurl beauty exchanges. This is a limited edition Joues Contraste blush in Brume D’Or, which doubles as a countouring blush on my skintone. I’m not very good at describing colors, but on me, it swatches a deep earth-toned brown blush. With a light hand, I can apply it to the apples of my cheek, and with a heavier stroke, I use it like a contouring powder – slightly lower down my cheeks and pulled upwards to my temple.

I’ve also stopped using my Shu Uemura brow pencil (you know, the famous slanty one that you can’t sharpen yourself) in favor of Bobbi Brown’s brow kit. Easy to use and with a good eyebrow brush, I find it more precise than a pencil. This is the shade Saddle/Mahogany.

Both came with their own brushes but those brushes are sitting around somewhere…as what normally happens with small brushes. Oops.

imageLast but not least – Australis Lash Length Extensions Mascara. This I have Tine to thank. My favorite is still Face of Australia’s Voluptulash but at this moment, this is the mascara I’m using. Also – I’m on a serious roll to finish up EVERYTHING I HAVE before I buy more beauty crap. This mascara is light, keeps the curl in the eyelashes, and doesn’t smudge at all. It’s very easy to remove with a biphase remover.

So these are my top 5 picks! Please comment below on your top 5, or provide your blog link for us to share it on this post.

Have a lovely week, everyone :).

2 thoughts on “Beauty Tag! Dom’s Pick: 5 Makeup Products I’d Pick in a Pinch

  1. Thanks for doing the tag! I haven’t used my Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum foundie in ages. Your post came as a reminder that I used to love that foundie to bits but haven’t touched it in a while no thanks to my wondering eye 😛

    • Thanks for the tag Tine! Yeah, I’ve been admonished by Suan to be better at blogging, so thanks to your tag, I’ve now done one post (plus another one in 2 days). I really just need to declutter.

Leave a Reply

