Home

Hello beautiful readers! In my everlasting quest for the perfect foundation, I bring to you the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer SPF20. At Tangs Singapore, I was shade matched to Fawn (which always sounds better than Beige).

laura_mercier_tinted_moistu

Here’s what the website says:

What it is: A perfect blend of skincare and makeup that hydrates skin and softens fine lines with a sheer hint of colour for a healthy, dewy glow.

What it is formulated to do: Laura Mercier created this product to give skin a healthy ‘no-makeup’ look with a soft hint of colour that evens and enhances without hiding the skin. This lightweight formula provides ideal protection from the sun’s harmful, damaging rays with broad spectrum SPF 20 UVB/UVA sunscreen. Perfect for all skin types, including sensitive.

So how does it compare, especially to my Bobbi Brown’ tinted moisturiser?

I like it much better!

The other day I was looking through a friend’s photos when I suddenly gasped (yes I did) ‘why does my skin look so AMAZING??’. Basically my face looked clean, clear, and glowy as if someone has gone over it with (good) Photoshop, and that my lovelies is a sign of awesome foundation.

IMG_5353

On my face I am wearing LAURA MERCIER Tinted Moisturizer in Fawn, BENEFIT Boing Concealer in Shade 03 (under eyes), STILA Countless Color Pigments in Finale (used as Blusher), LANCOME Hypnose Mascara, DIOR Addict Extreme lipstick in Lucky (dabbed lightly), TARTE Amazonian Clay Powder in Bronze (lightly dusted over T-zone)

The instructions say to apply with fingers but I prefer to use my Real Techniques Buffing Brush. About half a fingertip worth is enough for the whole face. I find the product comes out rather thick but the formula is super lightweight on the skin, it feels and looks slightly dewy (less than BB) and has a streak free finish. It is lightly hydrating but I also like to layer on my Sukin facial moisturiser underneath so that it won’t cling to my wintry dry patches.

The shade is a surprisingly good match (even for my post Bali tan), and the coverage is about light to medium, enough to cover all the redness and some hyperpigmentation but not completely hiding my scar marks. The best thing about it is that it blends flawlessly and doesn’t sit or look like there’s makeup on, in fact I am quite happy to pat this on with some blush and mascara and off I go!

I didn’t happen to get the oil-free version (mainly because I forgot) but given how dry my cheeks have been, this is just perfect to get that ‘boing boing’ look (as opposed to dry and flaky and ugh). Lasting power is awesome, sitting well through my day (8hrs+), turning slightly shiny in the latter half. There is no discernible scent (big plus!).

Furthermore there’s SPF 20, which although not a lot and you’re probably not applying enough to get full protection, it’s still handy knowing there’s some! There is a good range of shades so I’m pretty sure everyone will find something.

Would I repurchase? Sure thing! Laura Mercier’s Tinted Moisturizer retails for US$43.00 or SG$63.00.

Leave a Reply

