Home

Image

I decided to do something a little different with my nails over the weekend. This was my first attempt at an accent nail, and I have to admit that it is growing on me.

I used OPI Suzi Sells Sushi by the Seashore as my primary shade. It is a soft, ultra-feminine shade of pink with a slight pearlescent finish. It is not the most eye-catching shade in the world, but it sure is versatile and easy to match with any outfit or occasion. I imagine that it would work really well for a wedding, too. Two coats were needed to achieve full opacity. After drying, brush strokes were still slightly visible, although nothing awful.

Over Suzi, I layered one coat of Sally Hansen Diamond Strength in 210 Brilliant Blush. It claims to be a super tough, no chip nail colour, and given my staggering ability to exceed my own expectations of klutziness, I thought why not use it as a top coat. Brilliant Blush is pearlescent, translucent, and has a lovely warm pink-golden sheen to it when the light hits it. It didn’t alter Suzi’s shade at all, but instead gave it a little more depth and helped soften Suzi’s brush stroke visibility. It also dried in record time.

I used OPI Stay the Night on my ring fingers. This is one of my favourite nail colours because it is slightly outrageous for my own consumption – it’s a sea of fine fuchsia glitter against a jet black base. It’s one of the two Liquid Sand polishes from OPI’s Mariah Carey collection, and I think that it’s the most interesting shade of the collection by a long shot. It dries to a textured, gritty finish that I’m quite fond of, and looks particularly great against denim.

I have Beetrice to thank for the gift of OPI Suzi Sells Sushi by the Seaside – and my friend Daryl of Nail Deck fame for OPI Stay the Night. I obtained the Sally Hansen Brilliant Blush from a random bargain bin at university for close to nothing (sometimes being a graduate student has its perks)!

However, if you’re peering about in stores or pharmacies, a bottle of OPI can cost anywhere between SGD 13.00 on the lower end and SGD 25.00 on the higher end. Sally Hansen colours usually don’t break the SGD 17.00 ceiling.

2 thoughts on “Review: OPI Suzi Sells Sushi by the Seashore, OPI Stay the Night, and Sally Hansen Diamond Strength in 210 Brilliant Blush

    • Same here Olgie! I really love it now. I am such a big fan of the way it looks against dark denim. Wish it were more work-wearable though! Sigh.

Leave a Reply

