Home

On my recent Bali trip, I knew I would be spending a bit of time lying in the sun and soaking up some much-needed Vitamin D. Unfortunately, sun exposure comes with soaking up UVA and UVB rays as well, and this can be harmful. To overcome this, I decided to invest in a high-SPF, easy-to-use, easy-to-tote sunscreen.

Enter Mentholatum Sunplay Watery Cool Body Mist Sunblock SPF 75PA+++. 
Image

Everyone reacts to prolonged sun exposure very differently, depending on skin type – and the spectrum is immense. The luckiest of us don’t burn, but instead cultivate gorgeous tans over time. The least fortunate of us burn at a moment’s notice (all ultra-fair Asian girls and sun-sensitive redheads out there will be very aware of what I am talking about).

I am one of those girls who burns, peels, and browns in that order. While I love the happy glow I get after the peel, the peeling process itself makes me feel a bit reptilian and gross – and let’s not even get started on the pain of a bad sunburn.

Mentholatum’s Sunplay Watery Cool Body Mist Sunblock SPF 75PA+++ claims to be non-greasy, waterproof and sweatproof, and contains Vitamins C and E to help protect skin from the drying effects of the sun. It also has menthol in it, providing a cooling sensation when sprayed onto the skin.

So did this sunblock help keep the burning and subsequent peeling at bay?

First things first – to the person who pioneered the idea of sunscreen in a spray can, I salute you. Sunscreen in a spray can makes application a real cinch! And because this spray can works at any angle, even upside down, you don’t need a friend’s help to rub sunscreen into your back or other hard-to-reach areas.

Also, I was pleasantly surprised at the lightness of this sunscreen. To be fair, my previous experiences with body sunscreen have been with heavier, cream-based formulations that have that telltale sunscreen scent, are often a tad greasy, and take time to absorb. I found no such issues with Sunplay Watery Cool, which sprayed on as a thin, viscous film that quickly dried to a dewy sheen on the skin. I didn’t find the need to rub it in or spread it out after spraying, because the spray nozzle distributes the sunscreen very evenly.

I cannot comment much about the effect of the menthol, because I was unable to discern the difference between the coolness of any liquid in a pressurised spray container coming in contact with the skin and the cooling sensation brought about by menthol extracts – but ah, small matter! The most important thing is how it performed.

In Bali, I used this sunscreen quite liberally, applying it before stepping into the sun and reapplying at intervals and after dipping in the ocean or the pool. The result? A nice, even, light-golden tan all over, and no burn.  Insert jubilant fist pump here.

Pour conclure, this nifty sunscreen goes highly recommended. Beyond use at the beach or on holiday, I imagine it would be useful for all of your athletic ladies who like to go on long runs, swims, hikes, bike rides, you name it. Each 125ml spray can retails at SGD 17.90 at your local pharmacy.

4 thoughts on “Review: Mentholatum Sunplay Watery Cool Body Mist Sunblock SPF 75PA+++

  1. I’m Malaysian and I hate getting tanned. I’d totally buy this stuff, I had been eyeing them since the first saw them in Watsons/Guardian store. One thing tho, aren’t sunscreens *supposed* to just lay on top of the skin and not absorbed?

    • Hi Celesthra,

      From what we understand, sunscreens work by being absorbed into the skin, and not sitting on top of the surface. The ingredients in it screen out UV rays as they come into contact with skin cells. 🙂

Leave a Reply

