Home
Hi everyone! So I was finally able to go on holiday and visit family and get away from the Melbourne winter! And I thought it would be great to share with you what’s in my makeup bag :)As I travelled to Singapore, Cambodia and Bali and flying back to Melbourne on a budget airline, I had to make sure to bring minimal products that also wouldn’t be too fragile! I’d also need my makeup to withstand the summery humid heat throughout the day as I’d be trekking through many temples and tourist spots in Cambodia and Bali and use products that would be easy to apply.

So what made the bag in the end?

IMG_4920
BENEFIT’s Hello Flawless Oxygen Foundation in Beige. I’ve been trying out this new foundation and have really been loving the finish. I am quite surprised to have been matched to ‘Beige’ but it seems to suit my colouring – I think because I’ve paled in the winter!BENEFIT’s Hello Flawless Custom Powder Cover Up in Beige. I like the idea of this powder foundation. It can be used sheer as a finishing powder or layered on as foundation so I can use it on its on which would be great for days I’ll be out and about for a long time. However I found that the formula accentuates dry patches on my skin in the Singaporean weather and also appear too pale, perhaps Toasted Beige or Amber would be better. I found that I’ve liked using this with a buffing brush on my cheeks and forehead to even out my skintone.

MAC Creamy Concealer in W35. My go to concealer that I wouldn’t leave home without! It’s great for my under-eye circles and easy to buff in.

SLEEK Blush by 3 in Lace. A super versatile palette that gives me three blushes in one thin compact. I love the colours for day to night, there’s a natural peach, a shimmer rose gold and a vibrant coral pink.

UNII Palette. I love my Unii palettes! I can bring a selection of my own set of eyeshadows, here I have all of my STILA ones because they’re neutrals, beautiful and super easy to wear.

REVLON Lip Butter in Raspberry Pie. Yes I brought ONE lippie product! I could have brought more certainly but the idea was to keep it light and easy. Raspberry Pie is a beautiful deep…you guessed it, raspberry pink. It’s creamy and light and without sparkles so I can use it sheer for day time and layer it for going out at night while still keeping it chic.

MAYBELLINE The Falsies Volum Express in Blackest Black. I had this waiting among my stash to try and figured this was a good time as any! Haven’t worn it yet though, but looking forward to it 😉

NEUTROGENA Night Calming Cleansing Towelettes. For easy removal of makeup at the end of the day. I figured the night calming type might be useful as I find it difficult to relax in new beds, however while it does its job fair enough I find the towelettes rough on the skin, almost like a mild sandpaper.

NEUTROGENA Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Sunscreen Lotion SPF 30. I’ve heard some good things about the Dry Touch formula and was fairly impressed with the tester in store. Unfortunately the SPF30 version was the only one available, I see there’s a SPF 100+ available on their website!

NEUTROGENA Ultra Sheer Body Mist Sunscreen SPF 50. Yes I bought TWO sunscreens. After suffering a sunburn the last time I was in Bali that resulted in my back peeling in patches and hence looking like a piebald, I’m not taking any more chances. I love how easy this is to use and spray on. It goes on slightly sticky but dries down soon enough. I can reach my back and shoulders which is super important!

MARIO BEDESCU Drying Cream and Drying Lotion. I know that my skin is going to go haywire in SIngapore’s humid weather and the general level of pollution in Asia. These have really helped in cleaning up my acne and leftover pigmentation. To protect the glass bottle, I wrapped it in several layers of kitchen paper.

KLORANE Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk. I love this product so much I couldn’t resist getting an extra on sale to bring on my trip. It’s an absolute godsend for this weather and gives hair that extra volume and sense of ‘cleanliness’ between washes.

Brushes in a Travel size Ultimate Brush Roll by Trudy Joyce. I packed in my favourite NYX round eye brush, NYX lip brush, REAL TECHNIQUES crease brush, buffing brush and blush brush. I really like this travel roll, with ample space for lots of brushes, it’s easy to fold up and tuck into my makeup bag.

As you can see I’ve brought ample stuff to last me for three weeks. However to my dismay I’ve left out some very important items which I was quick to remedy through a trip to Sephora: I got a tube of FRESH Soy Facial Cleanser, SOAP&GLORY Body Butter and Shower Gel. Reviews coming up!

What is in your makeup bag for the holidays? Do you bring your entire stash or a select few favourites? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

