Home

I recently moved to a new apartment which used to be occupied by a girlfriend, and she left a couple of things behind for me in the bathroom. One such item was Neutrogena’s Deep Clean Facial Cleanser for normal to oily skin.

deepclean

I was initially a bit hesitant to try the stuff – my only experience with Neutrogena facial cleansers prior to this was with the famous Liquid Neutrogena as a teenager. It dried my oily skin out and I disliked it, and consequently refused to give the brand another try.

This time, however, my friend had left me an entire half bottleful, and I felt compelled to at least give it a chance before passing judgement on it. So I started using it semi-regularly, as an alternative to my favourite, old faithful Avene Cleanance Soapless Gel Cleanser.

Before I tell you about my experience with the product, though, here’s what the Neutrogena website says about it:

First, this dermatologist-tested formula cleanses deep down into pores–dissolving dirt, oil and makeup. Then, it removes dead surface skin that can dry, roughen and dull your complexion. It rinses clean, without leaving any pore-clogging residue. Skin looks fresher and healthier, feels smoother and softer. Oil-free and non-comedogenic.

My first impression of this dense, consistent amber liquid gel cleanser was that it was very strongly fragranced – it smells strongly floral, and this may or may not float your boat. If you are a regular reader, you’ll know that I’m not a fan of scented products, so I was a bit put off, but forged ahead anyway.

This cleanser foams up quite well, cleanses very thoroughly, and rinses cleanly. Surprisingly, for a normal-to-oily targeted drugstore cleanser, there is no squeaky-clean feel after cleansing, unlike Liquid Neutrogena, but skin still feels refreshed without feeling taut. It also gets rid of makeup like a dream, stripping away foundation and mascara (even waterproof!) quickly and effectively with just one wash and no excessive massaging in.

I’ve seen no big difference with regards to post-cleansing oil control, compared to when I use my Avene Cleanance Soapless Gel Cleanser.

Depending on where you buy it, a 200ml pump bottle of Neutrogena Deep Clean retails between SGD 9.00 to SGD 12.00 or so. This is pretty decent value since you barely need half a pump of product per use! To those of you out there who are on a bit of a budget, have normal to oily skin, and don’t mind floral scents, I’d suggest you give this cleanser a shot 🙂

PS: Here’s the ingredient list.

Water, Sodium C14 16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C12 15 Pareth 15 Sulfonate, Salicylic Acid, Linoleamidopropyl PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Disodium EDTA, Propylene Glycol, FD&C Yellow 5, FD&C Red 40, Fragrance

Leave a Reply

