Home

So I’ve been doing this exciting thing called dating (cue oooooohs and aaaaahs)! Here’s my failsafe ‘Date Night’ Look, perfect for a 1st, 2nd or even 3rd meeting with a gentleman for you to feel beautiful, confident and comfortable!

Face: Conceal under-eyes and spots with MAC Studio Finish Concealer in NW35 using REAL TECHNIQUES Domed Crease Brush (dab product on and buff in small circular motions). Pop some foundation (in my case, I used MAYBELLINE Fit Me Foundation in 310) onto back of hand (about a coin size amount) and use REAL TECHNIQUES Flat Domed Buffing Brush to buff into skin, starting from the middle of the face outwards with light circular motions. I also use whatever is left over on the brush over the eyes and slightly down the neck. I stopped here but you can choose to further spot conceal any marks or to set with powder if you’re prone to oiliness. As it’s winter and I prefer my skin to be dewy, I left it as is.

Eyes: Using ring finger, blend out MAYBELLINE Color Tattoo in Tough as Taupe all over the eyelids to act as a base. Follow with MAC Eyeshadow in Sable on the outer corners of the eyes, blending outwards and into the crease with NYX round fluffy brush (or your favourite eye brush) and under the eyes (concentrating on the outer corners for a light warm smokey look. I then lined the top and the outer 1/3rd of the lower lash line with STILA Smudge Stick Eyeliner in Oscar Fish (warm brown with sparkles), taking care to lightly smudge out the bottom lash line with a small crease brush so that it defines without looking stark. Coat lashes with copious amount of mascara, I did my top and bottom lashes with LANCOME Hypnose Mascara in Black.

Cheeks: Using REAL TECHNIQUES Blush Brush, I dabbed and blended out ILLAMASQUA Powder Blusher in Excite on my upper cheeks for a wintry flushed look. Although be forewarned this blush is INTENSE. One tap of the brush is more than enough for both cheeks and I ended up having to blend the colour out with some leftover foundation from my buffing brush. I love this colour- it’s a bright coral that instantly lifts any complexion, it’s just super pigmented so care is needed!

Lips: With a lip brush I applied a sheer layer of ILLAMASQUA Lipstick in Drench on the lips. I took my time and really worked the colour in for a stain effect so that it would last through the night. Concentrate from the middle of the bottom lip and work outwards. I then topped it up with SMASHBOX Gloss in Candid. I really do love Smashbox’s lipglosses, they’re super shiny with interesting colours. You can see how brilliant it is on the photo! On this occasion though I ended up blotting away most of the gloss before leaving the door because hey, we don’t want to look like we tried too hard 😉

Here’s the finished look:

date look

And that’s it! What is your favourite date look?

Leave a Reply

