Home

SdV strikes again with a lovely post on three ways to perfect your foundation. Trust her, she’s a fashion photographer 😉

Love, dom and ksuan

Being a convert to Lisa Eldridge’s video tutorials, I am a firm believer that great skin is the perfect base to any makeup look. And if your skin is a little less than perfect (like my poor acne prone one is) then there are ways to trick the eye and lay on a natural looking base. And natural is key for work and study suitable makeup, your skin has to look good and glowing as if it was normally so, not created by liquids and powders!

1st Look
Liquid Foundations

Image

I find a liquid base can usually achieve high coverage while still looking dewy. I use Maybelline’s Fit Me Foundation in 310 Sun Beige (Medium to Full Coverage) or Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum in 56 Light Bronze (Light to Medium Coverage) when I want to cover up more or need more hydration especially during winter. A little goes a long way, it’s easy to spread out for a full face and I can add more in areas that need it or I can add concealer.

I use the Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush to dab dots of the foundation onto the face and then blend it out into the skin. If your skin is prone to being especially oily, powder lightly across the T-Zone only, the effect should be clean dewy skin.

2nd Look
Tinted Moisturisers

Image

Tinted moisturisers are less heavy than liquid foundations and good for days when you simply want a no nonsense easy and even base. I use Bobbi Brown’s Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer with SPF 15 in Medium Tint. It is light coverage and hydrating and I simply use my hands to apply.

I do have to use extra concealer if I wish to cover up pigmented spots so I’d advise this method for when your skin is behaving and you definitely don’t want to laden it with chemicals. It is especially good for days when you’re late for classes! You can also mix in some liquid highlighter for an especially fresh look.

3rd Look
Mineral or powder foundations

Image

As I am usually in countries with hot summers (dry and sweaty in Melbourne, humid and sweaty in Malaysia), I usually opt for a powder foundation for warm days in order to keep my face matte and less of a greasy sticky mess. Currently my choice is Bare Minerals Loose Mineral Foundation in Medium Tan which is light with a medium coverage.

I choose to apply concealer (Benefit Boing in 3) before foundation to cover up pigmentation and then buff in a layer of the powder with a Real Techniques Buffing Brush. Using too much powder can give the skin an unnatural grey cast so keep a light hand.

Completing the look
Once you have your perfect base it is time to add as you wish. Sometimes I opt for just mascara and a rosy lipstick, or a thin grey-black eyeliner with a vibrant cream blush or a nude lip with light bronze eyes, or a lip stain with subtly contoured skin. The idea is to keep it simple and just let your fresh skin take you through the day!

Leave a Reply

