Home

Hmmm. I think I need to learn how to use my new camera. Apologies in advance for the picture quality. Let’s go!

Soap & Glory’s No Clogs Allowed! is one heck of an expensive deep cleansing mask. RM93 for a tube! Sure, it came with a free sponge, but I dropped mine into the toilet bowl and no amount of bleach will convince me that it’s OK to use it on my face.

imageNo Clogs Allowed! is a self-heating deep cleansing mask with small, rather spaced-out granular exfoliating pieces that seemed to melt as I rubbed it into my skin. The mask separates, which is why the instructions call for you to shake the tube, “for heat’s sake”.

image

I bought this mask after reading several promising reviews. But what’s my verdict?

Well, the shaking tube thing is a bit odd, as the mask is quite creamy. Creams don’t ‘shake’ per se, so no matter how much of a bicep workout you give it, there’s still going to be a bit of liquid dribbling out of the tube, instead of it being mixed properly with the cream. The heating sensation didn’t last too long – if you’ve used Estee Lauder’s Idealist skin refinisher (which is their microdermabrasion mask) and didn’t like how warm it got, you might prefer No Clogs Allowed!. I liked that it warmed up and gave way to an almost mint feeling, but I wished that the warming period lasted longer as opposed to 20 seconds.

I mentioned dropping the sponge into the toilet eh? Well, I kinda miss it. It’s a 100% cellulose sponge, which means that it’s man-made from wood fibers and is eco-friendly as it’s biodegradable. Washing off the mask with the sponge was a lot better and easier than using a face cloth, because you get additional exfoliation, which results in smoother and cleaner skin. I say ‘cleaner’ in the sense that the sponge picked up the mask remnants a lot easier and faster than a face cloth. Rinsing your face with your fingers and water will take up more time as the mask has a bit of an oily feel to it.

Ingredients list below. No 1. on the list: zeolite, is apparently an antioxidant and toxin absorber. When mixed with water, it can create a calming, soothing effect. Dimethicone as the second ingredient may worry those who cannot tolerate silicone. Cyclopentasiloxane is also a silicone to create a wet, slippery feel. No. 4 and 5 on the list: isononyl isononoate and myristil myristate are skin conditioning agents that leave your skin with a silky feel. No. 9 is the exfoliating agent in the form of pumice. There’s also some salicylic acid down the list.

image

 

Overall, I thought this was an OK mask. It’s a little too overpriced – then again, I’m not an ingredients expert so I’m not sure if the presence of zeolite in the ingredients list means it has to be an expensive product. My skin definitely felt smoother and brighter, but it also felt like I had some primer on my skin – the softness was a little too velvety-silicone type for me. Happy to report that there are no clogged pores or breakouts, and it didn’t dry out my skin. That said, if you have normal-dry skin, you may want to be a little careful with this product.

Oh, and it was supposed to turn bright blue or some sort of blue upon application – but it didn’t. I’m way more disappointed about this than I should be.

Overall, like I said, it’s an OK mask that left my skin feeling smooth and looking bright, but it felt like I had a bit of a primer-silicone type of feel on my skin. I think you can find a lot of cheaper masks out there that give you the same results sans the heating portion, which again falls a little short for me since I wanted a longer warming sensation. If you feel like splurging, splurge on the Estee Lauder Idealist mask instead as it doesn’t leave any residual feeling and the heating sensation lasts longer (and it’s more intense!).

image

Available at all Sephora Malaysia stores.

 

Leave a Reply

