Home

Hi everyone! I have been testing and trying a bunch of new products and here are my top 5 favourites!

LIZ EARLE Intensive Nourishing Treatment Mask

I rarely use masks, thinking they are a more of a ‘use for important events’ type of treatment and boy how wrong was I! This is a luxurious feeling hydrating mask that left my skin feeling so soft and radiant and calmed all my angry spots. It had an immediate positive effect which is something I rarely see from skincare products and I wish I’d have used it more constantly. It comes out as a thick white cream which I slather all over my face and leave on for 15 minutes by which it turns translucent and sinks into the skin. I then take off the residue with a warm cloth and voila, better looking skin. The scent is subtle and relaxing.

MAC Lipstick in Viva Glam V (Lustre)


This might be my favourite lipstick ever. It is one of those unassuming colours- a rosy brown with light gold sparkles but it is so versatile. I can wear it on its own as a my lips but better colour or use it to tone down a bright lippie or smooth a dry formula. A definite repurchase!

MAYBELLINE Eyestudio Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black


Took me ages to start on gel liners and I’m never going back! So easy to deliver a soft black line over the eyes and make the lashes look dark and deep. The formula stays put the whole day and doesn’t smudge or run. I also have this in Aubergine which is a lovely purple.

REAL TECHNIQUES Blush Brush


While technically not makeup or skincare, this is one of the softest makeup brushes I have ever used. It’s dense and slightly pointed and delivers the perfect amount of blusher on the cheeks. Not too much of a fan of the handle design, it’s rather bulky and doesn’t sit properly in the jar but otherwise it’s a great little tool.

LUSH CoalFace


I got a sample from Lush Singapore and have since then bought a bigger piece of this liquorice and charcoal cleanser. CoalFace looks intimidating but gives a white lather with little pieces to exfoliate the skin and leave it fresh and clean. There is a slight scent, sort of herb-like and refreshing. I love using this in the morning, it’s an instant wake up call and my face feels less oily.

What are yours?

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: SdV’s Top 5 Makeup and Skin Care Favourites of October/November

  1. i do love Lush Coalface, great for oily days 🙂 very tempted with real techniques blush brush, but since I have quite a few to rotate around, i won’t be getting it anytime soon.

  2. Pingback: SdV Reviews: Liz Earle Nourishing Botanical Body Cream | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

