Home

I’m a little over two months into my Ro-Accutane treatment at this juncture in time, and my skin is definitely improving. To speed up the process, I’m supplementing inner care with some outer care as well. Apart from the usual cleansing and moisturising, I’ve recently added another treatment step to my daily skin care routine. My weapon of choice? eco aroma’s Tea Tree Pure Essential Oil.

I’d used tea tree oil on my acne in my teens, and I found it too stinging, too pungent, just too much. However,  now that I’ve discovered eco aroma’s tea tree oil, though, I realise that there truly is no substitute for a high-quality, pure all-natural product. The difference lies there.

Here’s what eco aroma says about one of their star products:

A fresh and antiseptic scent.

Skin & Hair: Helps to clear acne, burns, herpes, oily skin, athlete’s foot, cold sores, blemishes, nappy rash, warts, sunburn and infected wounds.

Body: Helps body to fight infections including colds, flu, cold sores, catarrh, glandular fever and gingivitis.

Mind & Emotions: Strengthening, boosts morale and protecting.

Blends well with: cinnamon, cypress, eucalyptus, geranium, ginger. Juniper, lavender, lemon, orange, peppermint, pine, rosemary.

I think we can safely say that tea tree oil sits high on the versatility scale. So what was my experience with it?

Firstly, let me assert that eco aroma’s tea tree oil is not a solution (like the Body Shop’s tea tree oil, which is actually a 15% oil solution) – it’s 100% good stuff. It smells absolutely divine – minty, calming, soothing. It’s a very fluid oil and leaves zero sticky residue, unlike other tea tree oils/solutions I’ve used in the past. Patted into the skin, it absorbs quickly, dries to a smooth finish and leaves no shine.

What I’ve been doing is patting a little bit of oil on my remaining acne spots twice a day after a warm shower, when my pores are still open and my face is clean. The tea tree oil helps eliminate bacteria and soothe inflammation. I find it’s been very effective in reducing the redness of my spots and helping the dormant ones surface and heal quicker. And post-tea tree oil, when zits do become pustular, they ‘pop’ with less ferociousness (no splatter – just a gentle easing, if you will) and the offending area doesn’t stay red and fierce for too long after.

Before going to bed, I warm two drops of oil in my palms and pat my entire face with it. It’s a very therapeutic end-of-day ritual, and I’ve also found that it helps me sleep better. It’s been a week and a half since I’ve started doing this, and I’ve noticed that since then, my skin has started to look visibly fresher in the mornings. My overall sebum production (which has been reduced due to Ro-Accutane anyway) has also come under better control since I started using pure tea tree oil on my face every night. Oh, and it works great for spots on the body as well!

I purchased my 10ml bottle from a hospital pharmacy for SGD 34.95. Yes, this is hardly afforable for a tiny bottle, but I’m so glad I went with eco aroma’s pure oil instead of a cheaper oil solution. And since you only ever need a couple of drops for each full-face application, I suspect this 10ml will last me a long while.

Leave a Reply

