Home

Concealers – can’t live without them! Sometime ago I reviewed Laura Mercier’s Secret Camouflage (review here), which while a good product, felt a bit inefficient as it was a dual-color concealer. So I went back to my very first concealer, the Bobbi Brown Face Touch Up Stick.

20120916-105719.jpg

Bobbi Brown’s Face Touch Up Stick is like a mini foundation stick – it’s creamy and provides medium to full coverage. I particularly like how the packaging makes it a breeze to apply. The bullet applicator swivels up and down like a lipstick, and you can apply it directly on problem areas.

20120916-105738.jpg

The interesting thing about this concealer is that it’s got some SPF protection in the form of titanium dioxide, and kaolin, which is great for oil control. Kaolin also helps fight acne and increase localized circulation, which can contribute to fighting inflammation. While the concealer is not marketed as an anti-acne or acne-fighting beauty product, it seems that it can help conceal and heal blemishes (albeit to a certain extent). I’ve used it on my acne and it didn’t make things worse for me.

20120916-105730.jpg

So previously, I reviewed the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage (review here) and here’s a mini comparison:

  • Coverage: Laura Mercier wins by a slight margin. It gives better coverage, and it might be due to the dual-tone concept. BB’s stick is in one color so it doesn’t do any base correction on marks, whereas LM’s base color, mixed with the skin tone color helps correct and conceal.
  • Ease of application: Definitely Bobbi Brown, it’s so much easier because you don’t need a brush at all. With LM, you have to mix and match with a brush, as the texture is different.
  • Texture: Bobbi Brown has a softer, creamier texture, making it easier to blend.
  • Price: Laura Mercier is cheaper at RM139 for 7.7g. Bobbi Brown is RM100 at only 2.3g
  • Color choice: Bobbi Brown has more color choices for their concealers, whereas LM only has 5, if not mistaken.

I can’t say exactly which one is my ultimate holy grail. Both are different, have their strengths and weaknesses, and depending on my skin condition, I might use one or the other. I can say that I do recommend both very highly and it’s really up to you what you want and how best the color suits you.

For reference, my color is Natural 4, and I’m a MAC 25, Bourjois 53 (Beige Claire), Bobbi Brown 3.5, or Bare Escentuals Medium Beige for foundation color.

4 thoughts on “Review: Bobbi Brown Face Touch Up Stick (4 Natural)

Leave a Reply

