Home

Following the successful launch of Malaysia’s first beauty box subscription service, Fabulous Finds, let’s have a peek at the August collection! It’s quite a nice box this time around and for RM35.00 per month, it’s a very good bargain. This month’s theme is Fabulous New Discoveries.

20120819-114720.jpg

Delivery was prompt – Hui Ling, Fabulous Finds’ CEO, informed me that she would be sending out the boxes on the 15th of August, and I got it immediately the very next day. I like how she printed out Fabulous Finds-branded delivery boxes to encase the actual beauty box inside. Small but brilliant touch. 20120819-114754.jpg

Unboxing commences!

20120819-114807.jpg

20120819-114826.jpg

With a personal note from Hui Ling, wishing all Malaysians a Selamat Hari Raya and Selamat Hari Merdeka (Happy Independence Day).

20120819-114848.jpg

I think I’ll call the list above a “beauty product menu”. You can click the picture to enlarge. This time around we have two full-sized products and a great mix of items. This is my first and only experience with a beauty box subscription so I can’t compare it with others, but I really do appreciate that this menu was included. It had a short summary of the products to explain what the products do, as well as the recommended retail prices for us to budget for our next purchases. Very nicely done indeed.

20120819-114903.jpg

Et voila – here’s what we have in this month’s Fabulous Finds!

20120819-114922.jpgA My Beauty Diary facial sheet mask.

20120819-114934.jpgWella SP Repair Shampoo and Mask. All subscribers will receive either this range or the Color Save range. I’m not sure if this is customized – I don’t have colored hair so I like that I got the Repair range. If you’re a subscriber, let us know which one you received!

20120819-115000.jpgAn RM10 cash voucher for Beaubelle products and a hefty 50% discount voucher for Jurlique facials. I’m looking forward to using the discount voucher!

20120819-115022.jpg Skinz Infinite Youth Recall Serum. Now this is an interesting addition. I was always under the impression that beauty box subscriptions should contain high-end and/or cult beauty products, so initially I was a little apprehensive when I saw this brand. However, I also think that beauty boxes are meant to introduce you to brands you may not have even considered in the first place, and it is a full-sized product worth RM59.90. I’m not entirely sure what the bio-stem cell activator is but this product apparently contains some form of Retin A, which is a retinoid – great for cell regeneration and anti-wrinkle properties.

20120819-115012.jpgOlive Hand Cream and Jurlique Balancing Day Care Cream- again, subscribers will receive either the day moisturizer or Purely Age-Defying Ultra Firm & Lift cream. I’m assuming that this may have been customized to a certain extent, with older subscribers receiving the age-defying one. I have an Olive hand soap which I absolutely love, and it’s a really lovely treat. I’ll be bringing this with me to Australia next month.

20120819-115207.jpgEmpro Brown and Black Mascara, the 2nd full-sized product. I love mascaras so I can’t wait to try this out. It’s a dual-ended mascara and I’ve never used a colored mascara, so this is another product I’m quite excited to try.

20120819-115223.jpgLastly, a Lanvin Femme Couture fragrance vial. I’ve never smelled this before so it was nice to get it in the box.

Overall, I think this is a pretty good box for August. It’s got a good mix – skincare, makeup, perfume, hand care – making this a well-rounded box. In terms of value, this box is RM35.00 and the two full-sized items, Empro mascara and Skinz Infinite serum, are already at about RM120.00 so you’re getting quite a bang for your buck.

I’m looking forward to trying out the Jurlique facial and moisturizer, the Olive hand cream, the Empro mascara, and Wella shampoos. Might post a review on those soon!

Have you gotten your Fabulous Finds subscription yet? If you haven’t, please visit Fabulous Finds to sign up. Each box is RM35, but you can get an annual subscription of RM420 with an additional box FREE. There’s also a points system, where you can get points to redeem for a free box. So what are you waiting for?

Disclaimer: This service was provided by the company for review. We strive to keep our reviews as honest and objective as possible.

9 thoughts on “August Fabulous Finds Box Review – Fabulous New Discoveries!

    • Likewise, I’m a bit iffy on the Skinz serum (especially since retinoids sold in this form tend to be too weak to show any major changes, and I’m already on a prescription-strength retinoid). The Jurlique touch was definitely nice :). A girl can never have too many mascaras so I think that the Empro one is really nice. Maybe next they can put in their famous eyebrow pencil!

  1. My heart sank when I saw the Empro mascara. I remembered buying it during a beauty emergency about a year ago. I curled my stick straight lashes and the mascara made my beautifully curled lashes droopy! And curling lashes coated with mascara is definitely a beauty no-no. Don’t think I want to give it another chance :

    • Hey Kay, so sorry to hear about your experience! Perhaps you can regift it to someone else πŸ™‚ I’ll be trying it out so we’ll see how it goes. Thanks for sharing your experience. Did you enjoy any other part of the box?

  2. Yeah I’m happy to see the “Oceania” mask and the “Repair” hair set. Seems spot-on for my skin / hair conditions :>

    • I got the Africa mask – it’s the hydrating one. I’m glad to hear that at least there are some products you enjoy. I think the Jurlique items were a plus too.

  3. Pingback: rinnah's consumer views » Blog Archive » Fabulous Finds August 2012 Box

Leave a Reply

