Home

I’m a big, big fan of all-natural products. So imagine my surprise and delight when I came across this little beauty for my acneic skin: earthscience Mint Tingle Purifying Facial Masque.

earthscience is an American company based out of Santa Barbara, California. They’re all about making kind-to-consumer skin and hair care products that are infused with a bevy of natural ingredients ranging from kukui nut and avocado oil to triple-distilled peppermint oil and papaya enzymes. Their formulas also proudly contain no irritants, soaps, petroleum, toxins, heavy metals, artificial colours or parabens.

Sounds good so far, but how does the masque fare?

The blurb on the back of the tube says:

Special firming clay tightens skin, absorbs excess oils to unclog pores, and promotes a natural renewing process. Use regularly to clean acne-prone skin. pH 7.9

Here’s the ingredient list for those of you who’re interested:

I’ve been using this product for about three weeks, thrice a week each time, and I’m hooked for several good reasons.

Firstly, I’m not going to mince my words – it genuinely works. After every use, it refines my pores and my skin generally feels happier, healthier, less oily and calmer. Redness is markedly reduced, as is inflammation and swelling. This stuff helps my large cystic acne calm down quicker, and shrinks existing zits. It works even better if you lightly dot it over problem spots overnight and wash it off the next day.

Also, there’s a mighty good reason they labeled this mask ‘Mint Tingle’. It contains not only earthscience’s triple-distilled peppermint oil, but spearmint oil too! So if you’re the type who likes a good hit of mentholated goodness with their facial products, this is definitely one for you. And somehow, despite all this minty madness, it doesn’t inflame or irritate my skin in the slightest.

After the crazy tingling which lasts for about two minutes, the mask simmers down and begins to soothe and tighten skin,  which is oh-so-relaxing and comforting. It’s a treat, sitting around my room listening to Jason Mraz with this masque on 🙂

Another thing I do love about this masque can best be demonstrated in the following photograph:

Yes, your eyes do not deceive. This masque goes on bright spanking blue. And it’s awesome. Anything that makes my sister explode in hysterical laughter the moment I walk out of the bathroom scores many points in my books. Also useful for any of you who’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be Na’vi (more points for those of you who get the rather geeky reference point). It ain’t easy being blue, but it sure is fun.

Just a pea-sized knob, spread out evenly and smoothly with the fingertips, is enough to thinly coat the entire face, which means one tube can last for months and months on end. To those of you who are worried that the blue shade stains skin, don’t worry, it doesn’t. It does take a little effort to get all the masque washed off cleanly though, because the texture of the masque is so dense and dries as such. It rinses off much better with warm water as opposed to tepid or cold.

A 118ml tube set me back SGD 18.00 at Brown Rice Paradise, an organics supermarket located at Tanglin Mall. Yes, it’s not cheap, but for an all-natural products that works and lasts, I’m comfortable with forking out a few more dollars at the outset. After all, who can put a price tag on happy, healthy, nourished skin?  I will most definitely be repurchasing once I run out (and that may take a while), and am keen to explore more of the earthscience range of facial products too!

2 thoughts on “Review: earthscience Mint Tingle Purifying Facial Masque

    • Heh heh! I like the idea of Na’vi better. Tall, athletic, lithe, can tame epic flying beasts – what’s there not to want? See you soon, Bee 🙂

Leave a Reply

