Home

I’ve been meaning to blog about Esmeria Organic’s amazing facial cleanser for the longest time. It took me a while to fall in love with it and I thought that it would be relegated to the ‘impulse purchase I regret’ category. What made me love it so very much however, was how it helped my skin the past several months.

It’s old news – I think by now you may know that I’ve been moaning about my skin in almost every recent blog post. It was ultra sensitive, it stung whenever I washed my face with an ordinary cleanser, it felt thin, and I was an all-around unhappy girl. I gave up on my usual cleansers – even my favorites – and dug out the Esmeria Organics Alpine Willowherb Purifying Cleansing Gel for Oily & Acne Prone Skin. Which shall now be dubbed as “the purple one from Esmeria”, or other permutations of said phrase.

20120607-140439.jpg

I’ve never used a cleanser like this. Sure, it’s a pretty low-foaming cleanser, but it started off as a goopy, slimy, viscous, and frankly speaking, not very attractive-looking dollop of cleansing liquid. Then my problems got worse. You know how your skin gets frightfully sensitive and you pick at it, and it just feels all dry and tense, yet oily at some parts, and just “ARGH what is WRONG! WITH! YOU!”? When you wash your face, it stings a little bit? Yeah.

This purple one from Esmeria did not – I repeat, did not – sting my face one bit. The odd goopy, slimy feel (attributed to the aloe vera extract and xanthan gum) soothed my skin and made it feel softer. I felt like my skin had its protective layer back, and my follow-up serum and moisturizer sunk in happily without my pores protesting in pain (yes, sometimes that happens to me when my skin goes nuts. Even serums and moisturizers sting. What?). I used it every single day until I finished my tube, and my skin slowly recovered. Can I hear a big ‘WOOP’ for an extremely comfortable, soothing, and gentle cleansing gel? All for an affordable RM30+? Sure, it’s a tad higher than your usual Niveas, Simples and what-have-you-not drugstore brands, but for an organic brand that works, I don’t mind paying for it. Oh, and did I mention that it smells naturally citrusy, without the “Lemme whack you with a whole bunch of synthetically-derived fragrance” scent? Yes. Super comforting. I can’t stop saying that! It’s lovely to wake up to such a lovely smell as I’m washing my face in the shower, and prepping to go to bed.

My only gripe? Hello Esmeria – it’s a tiny bit hard to find you. I bought my tube at Watsons KLCC but it’s now only available at Vitacare KLCC. I reckon it’s only available in selected shops, like Caring and Vitacare. On the plus side, claps to Vitacare and Caring for bringing in brands like Esmeria and MooGoo – two organicky brands which I love.

Ingredients: Aqua/water, aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) leaf juice, disodium cocoglucoside tartrate, sodium cocoyl glutamate, xanthan gum, glycerin, epilobium fleischeri (alpine willowherb) extract, calendula officinalis flower extract, citrus dulcis (sweet orange) oil, chamaemelum nobile (roman chamomile) oil, tocopherol, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate, parfum.

Now, I’ve been using the pink one – the Prickly Pear version for normal/combi skin – and I much prefer the purple one for oily skin, simply because my skin is so sensitive. Although it’s for oily skin, I daresay any skin type can use it. Take a look at the ingredients – there’s barely anything that you’d normally associate with oily/acne cleansers. When you think about it, the logic makes sense. Acne-prone skin tends to be a little more sensitive as it reacts quickly to hormonal and external environment changes. So instead of going nuts and stripping excess sebum, and killing the acne Terminator-style, why not soothe the skin back to happy submission? Most of the ingredients are very gentle. So yes – if you have sensitive skin, you can use it too.

Esmeria Organics has been recommended highly by other local bloggers, and I can see why now. This is a product I highly recommend. Good price point, cleanses gently, and smells great. Go on now.

8 thoughts on “Review: Esmeria Organics Alpine Willowherb Purifying Cleansing Gel for Oily & Acne Prone Skin

  1. I like them too. Am using the Prickly Pear ones. They can be found at Shins outlets too. And also organic shop, Justlife 🙂

    • Hi Summer, thank you for your comment. I never knew they could be found at Shins and Justlife 🙂 At least we have more places to get them now.

  2. I have been using Esmeria Organics too. Love the products especially the face scrub and body lotion. The scent is really nice and i found out they have a kid range under this brand name Buds from same company. I like the kid orange shower gel. dont dry out the skin and again scent is so refreshing!

    • Hi Jesse, thank you for stopping by. I have seen Buds around, and it’s nice to know that it’s made by the same company! I’ll try out the orange shower gel when I run out of shower products 🙂

  3. Pingback: May and June Empties, and Quick Reviews: OPI Avojuice, MooGoo Milk Shampoo, Esmeria Organics, Sephora Mineral Compact, Bare Escentuals Mineral Veil, and Mandom/Bifesta Cleansing Express | belle demoiselle

  4. I found this cleanser lurking in my stash back in Malaysia and not having any other cleanser around I gave it a go. I may be imagining things but my breakouts from flying to Cannes calmed the hell down and WENT AWAY. I’ve been using it daily since and my skin hasn’t been so good in ages. As soon as I’m positive I”m putting a review up. Thanks for posting yours, it prompted me to give it a serious try!!

    • Hey Kahani, glad to hear that it works for you too! Love it to bits, but I wish I could say the same of the toner and moisturizer from the same range. It’s super soothing.

  5. Pingback: Review: Clinelle Deep Cleansing Gel « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

