Home

Capitalising hard upon the taupe eyeshadow wave that has swept across our part of the beauty blogsphere (hi there Syen, Kahani, more here and even more here !), here is a post on (you guessed it) my favourite taupe eyeshadow: Topshop Makeup Eyeshadow Mousse in Glint. 

No matter how many times I snap a photo of this shadow – be it in the pot or swatched on the back of my hand, I can never take a shot that accurately represents the multifaceted quality of this lovely shade of taupe. So I’ve resorted to Google Images, and here’s the best depiction of it that I could find:

It’s deep with brown and purple elements that somehow blend together beautifully, accentuating eyes in a most elegant manner. On certain days/under certain lighting it looks browner on me, and on other occasions it looks a little more purple. I’m going to hazard a guess that it’ll pull significantly browner on those with warm undertones, and purpler on those with cooler undertones.

It’s a shadow you can apply sparingly for just a little more definition while still looking natural for the daytime, and a shadow that you can build up to create an intense taupe smokey eye for an evening out.

Seriously, look at how pretty and mysterious it looks in the photo below. And still, this isn’t quite what it looks like in real life! Grunt.

Courtesy of avainwoman.blogspot.com

Plus, because the taupe shade is so neutral and versatile, you can pair it with pretty much anything else, makeup-wise or outfit-wise, and it will still rock. Syen, Kahani, I fully understand your Taupe Appreciation Syndrome now.

The formula itself is quite interesting. It’s a mousse shadow so it swatches on very lightly and smoothly, and blends with great ease. You need only a smidgen for each eyelid, so you end up getting real value for money with this product. You can always apply it with a brush if you so wish, but I find this shadow works best when applied and gently blended outward with a fingertip.

It also stays on for hours and hours, even sans primer. And surprisingly, for a creamy shadow, it doesn’t crease! No wonder Topshop Makeup has a really solid reputation. This shadow is also rated 4.8 out of 5 on the Topshop Makeup review website, and for good reason 🙂

I bought this at Topshop at Midvalley Megamall, Kuala Lumpur, a few months back on a weekend stopover. It originally retails at MYR 46.00 but I got mine at the ridiculously cheap discounted price of MYR 23.00 🙂 Lucky find!

16 thoughts on “Review: Topshop Makeup Eyeshadow Mousse in Glint

    • Hey Lyn, I saw! Yours is the first entry that appears when I Google searched for this product’s reviews 🙂 I wish they would too, but I haven’t seen many others in store, even in Singapore. Hmph.

      Also, how difficult is it to get a good photo of this colour – be it a swatch or in the pot? Grr!

      • I need to fix that post because it was one of those that got screwed when migrating from Blogger to WordPress. It glimmers a bit differently in different angles so it doesn’t really matter how accurate the colour is 😉 I guess a skin swatch will help others see what it looks like on actual skin.

        • You’re right Lyn, but even then, my skin has funny days where it looks more purple on some and more brown on others. Haha.

  1. Aieeeee! Right, imma drop by TopShop next time I’m home (it hasn’t launched in HK yet I think,and when it does will only be in Harvey Nic’s). Today I slicked on the Taupe Too Faced Lockdown Shadow (beddroom eyes), used mascara and I’m DONE. Best single-eyeshadow-shade in the world. =D

    • Hey Kahani! 🙂 Bless the taupe craze, every girl needs a go-to all-purpose shadow, and taupe is just the best shade for the job.

  2. Ooooooh. Sorry I’m late but thanks the intro to even more good taupe shades! TopShop, see you this weekend… or maybe even earlier. =P

Leave a Reply

