Home

Each of us has a different skin type with different needs. However, it’s always a challenge to tell which products will work and which won’t until you try them.

Because stock photos of girls washing faces are always unintentionally funny 😀

Today, I’ll share with you a couple products that I tried which didn’t quite work as planned.

Vichy Purete Thermale Purifying Foaming Water

After reading several good reviews on this self-foaming cleanser, I went out and purchased a bottle. Normally, I have great faith in French skincare brands, but somehow this product did not jive with me. I was a little put off by the floral scent to begin with, but persisted. Sadly, my skin did not appreciate this persistence. A few days into using this twice daily, my skin began to itch, and the itching would last throughout the day. In the morning, I would wake up with my eyes bloodshot and swollen, and the entire eye area puffy. This reaction stopped completely when I quit using this cleanser and went back to my old faithful Avene Cleanance Soap-Free Gel Cleanser. I have a strong feeling that what my skin hated was not the Vichy cleansing formula itself (which I ironically found to be quite effective), but the chemical that produced the floral scent – what a crying shame 😦

Shu Uemura Skin Purifier High Performance Balancing Cleansing Oil 

Here’s yet another product that’s loved by many. My darling housemate is one of those people, and knowing that I write for belle, she kindly offered to let me try some for a week and see how I felt about it. My skin didn’t last a day – this cleansing oil got rid of makeup very effectively, but left my skin horribly dry, peeling, splotchy and itching right after rinsing off. It was quite simply one of the most severe and immediate reactions my skin’s ever had to a product. It took several days of soothing with my Avene Cleanance Soap-Free Gel Cleanser and Bobbi Brown Hydrating Gel Creme before all the redness dissipated and my skin quit flaking.  I was sorely disappointed, and my housemate was bewildered because she’d never run into a problem with the product in all her time using it. I have yet to identify the offending chemical/s in the cleansing oil that triggered such a reaction, but suffice to say, I’m steering clear of Shu Uemura’s entire cleansing oil range (at least for now).

Has anyone else got a list of products that just didn’t work for them? Do share your experiences with us!

2 thoughts on “Trial and Error: Two Products that Didn’t Work for ksuan

  1. I can’t use the Shu Uemura oil cleanser either. Breaks me out every single time and I’ve tried every single one in the range. None work. Wallet is happy.

    • Darn, Peebs. You’re persistent to try every single one! I feel once-bitten enough to avoid like the plague (at least until the fear subsides, which it has not… yet). But yes, amen to happy wallets as a consequence of expensive products not working out for us!

Leave a Reply

