Home

About a month ago, I ran out of my Himalaya Herbals Protein Conditioner, so off to the pharmacy to get a new bottle – or so I thought. I ended up distracted in the shampoo aisle, and hankering to try something new. Impulsively, I reached out, grabbed the brightest red bottle on the shelf, and took a sniff of Clairol Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner. 

Sold.

At present, I am going through a phase of wanting to grow my hair out as long as I can until I get tired of it and chop it all off again. For now I’m enjoying my extended lengths and am keen to keep my tresses free of tangles and split ends.

It’s been only a couple of weeks into using this conditioner once every two to three days, and my hair has already received a slew of desultory compliments from my girlfriends. Some of them have even reached out to touch my hair, with one of them rather memorably running her fingers through it and saying, “Ooh, your ponytail, it’s so silky and soft and purdy.”

And the (rather predictable) verdict!

Texture and Consistency: Decent. The conditioner itself is a light sweet pink in colour and spreads quite well. It errs on the slippery side, but it’s not too creamy or goopy. Contains dimethicone, as so many conditioners these days do!

Performance: Long Term Relationship’s conditioner is a solid performer. I like to massage this conditioner into the lengths of my hair, careful to start only from the nape of the neck downwards and avoiding the scalp, and then rinsing it off thoroughly after letting it sit for about a minute. You could leave it in longer if you don’t have oily hair, but I would strongly suggest to all oily-haired girls that a minute is all you really need. A towel-dry and blow-dry later, my hair is happy, moisturised but not heavy, and silky to the touch. And no split, dry ends! Score.

Scent: As with most all Clairol products, this conditioner smells lovely – raspberries, mmhmm! Fruity, happy, light are three words that immediately come to mind. I love that it’s not overwhelming, cloying or even remotely offputting. Going to bed with freshly washed and dried, delicately berry-scented locks is a beautiful way to end any long day 🙂

Pour conclure, I’m happy that I replaced my Himalaya Herbals Protein Conditioner with a product that performs just as well, if not better (and without the cloying floral scent, to boot). A repurchase once I run out is imminent – unless, of course, I serendipitously come across yet another contender for HG conditioner on a shelf somewhere 🙂

A 300ml bottle of Clairol Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner sells for SGD 7.65 (or SGD 5.95 on promo) at your local supermarket or pharmacy. I believe it goes for about MYR 16.90 (or maybe a little less, even) back in Malaysia 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Clairol Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner

    • Hi Anne! Good luck with growing out your hair, and do give this conditioner a try, it does help with the tangles 🙂

Leave a Reply

