Home

Our favourite moisturising drugstore brand, Dove, recently launched a small line of new face washes. One was moisturising for normal to dry skin, one was citrusy for normal to oily skin, and one was labeled ‘Deep Pure’, for all skin types.

In a nutshell: this is a good scrub that ain’t a scrub.

Confused? Read on.

This is how the Dove folks explain this product’s scrub properties:

There you have it, ladies. It’s a scrub, but the scrub particles are so minuscule that you can’t even feel them when you’re using the product. Nifty idea, but does it deliver?

Formula: Thick, very consistent, and dense as anything. I need so little of this product with each use that I reckon I’ll be stuck with this tube for many, many months to come. Just for your reference, the amount shown in the photo below is about triple what I would use on my face.

Scent: Like all Dove products, Deep Pure smells powdery-floral. It’s not at all jarring, though – I think the trademark Dove scent was toned down a little bit for this product. The packaging indicates that it was intended for a Japanese market, and I’m guessing that has something to do with it. I’m quite a big fan of this tempered scent 🙂

Texture: As it does not contain our foamy friend Sodium Laureth Sulfate and/or its many variations, this face wash does not froth and bubble – instead, it becomes a silky, creamy, dense lather that spreads easily across skin and is quite a pleasure to use. I’m a fan.

Performance: Interestingly enough, after a round of Deep Pure, my skin always feels deep cleansed and squeaky clean, but without that all-too-familiar dry and taut sensation. Thank you Dove and your one-quarter moisturising cream formula. Admittedly, I haven’t seen any dramatic changes in my skin texture since using this scrub (it’s been about a month or so), but I notice that serums and moisturisers absorb into my skin more quickly and effectively if applied right after a nice round of scrubbing with Deep Pure. Bingo. It also gets rid of traces of makeup very effectively, just in case you didn’t get all of it off with makeup remover the first time around 🙂

Pour conclure, good deal, Dove! Am happy with this purchase – it performs well, helps other products work better, and it barely set me back anything. Dove Deep Pure is priced at a very reasonable SGD 5.95 for a 110ml tube, which lasts absolutely ages because you only need a pea-sized amount each time. I bought my tube at my local supermarket, but it’s also available on the shelves of your nearby Guardian or Watson’s.

10 thoughts on “Review: Dove Deep Pure Face Wash

  1. Never tried Dove’s skincare, but I guess it’s time I do! 🙂 just wondering, would this replace the “usual” skincare?

    • Hey Plue, what do you mean replace ‘usual’? Do you mean using this daily instead of using your regular cleanser? You definitely could, but I choose not to because my skin really likes Avene’s cleanser and instead use this as a gentle exfoliator a few times a week 🙂

      • oh oh what i meant was the good old scrubby scrub, can we use this to replace it? since it’s scrub not but really scrub like? 😛

        • If you’re into the scrubby sensation, I wouldn’t replace a regular scrub with this. You cannot feel any scrubbing action (no grains, nothing, zip) when using Deep Pure. It works as a scrub would, without any discernible sense of abrasion and is a lot gentler than, say, St Ives’ Apricot Scrub or Himalaya Herbals’ Walnut Scrub.

          But if you’re not fussed about getting that particular sensation and are more concerned about the performance of the product itself, then by all means, replace away 😉

  2. I’ve been using the foamy cleanser and it’s not bad, a tad bit drying though. This looks like a good alternative to those seeking a gentler scrub. I have to check it out soon 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Lyn – drying, really? That’s interesting… tell us more! And you’re most welcome. Thank you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

