Home

Bit late of me to jump on the BB cream bandwagon eh?

The reason is because after I tested BRTC’s BB creams (I believe they were the first ‘credible’ BB creams to make their way more prominently in Malaysia, via Watsons), I decided that I’d be nuts to spend on those things. The color was too fair, too pink, too thick, and come on, really? Moisturizing, healing, evening out skin tone, and what not? Yeah, pfft…right.

Then Lioele’s Waterdrop BB Cream SPF27 PA++ kicked my arse for being so disbelieving.

I got this from Lyn via a beauty swap because it was so unlike the other BB creams I’ve seen. There’s a reason it’s called ‘Waterdrop’. The dang thing needs some lovin’ shakin’ to emulsify and mix up the H2O and pigments. If you don’t shake till the cows come home, you’ll find that the formula separates quite easily and you’ll get clear liquid running out as opposed to a tinted fluid. The tone is also slightly on the greyer side and it wasn’t thick. It was pleasantly liquidy. I was intrigued.

Wanna know what I mean?

The texture is sublime – really like water, just a tad more viscous. As you apply it to your skin, it turns into water droplet-lookie-likeys.

It’s easily spreadable – really like water and it absorbs so quickly into the skin. As you can tell from the picture, a touch grey-er than what I normally would wear, but after a few minutes, the color self-adjusts and my skin tone is more even. Don’t expect any miracles though; this gives you sheer coverage only and I still see my acne spots, but it gets rid of redness very well.

Packaging is great – a small nozzle and squeezable tube, but you don’t need any squeezing with this. The BB cream just flows out on its own.

This is how it looks like, after I blended it in. Slightly lighter, but not drastic:

Here’s the long story short: I have combo-oily skin, and when I wear this on my own, I don’t find myself oiling up more than usual. If anything, the oil control is pretty normal – I find myself oiling up even more with Neutrogena’s Oil-Free Moisturizer! I normally set it with powder, and for extra coverage, I use foundie on top of the BB cream – it provides an excellent base. I’ve totally skipped out on moisturizer for the past 2 months and I might be imagining it, but my skin feels a tad bit better and looks a bit better too. It could be my Clinique Even Better serum kicking in, but what I love about this Lioele product is that it didn’t break me out, didn’t cause any clogs and for something that’s purported to have moisturizing qualities, it does do the job very well. On the website, the product is stated to be great for dehydrated skin, and I can see why. This is a very water-based BB cream – it’s like they added water to a tinted moisturizer and gave birth to Lioele Waterdrop BB cream.

It retails online and at Sasa for RM69.90. I think it’s well worth the money, and a good reason for me to start believing in BB creams again. I really do love this little gem, but not crazy enough to use it at night for obvious reasons ;).

10 thoughts on “Review: Lioele Waterdrop BB Cream SPF27 PA++ (50ml)

  1. ooh looks nice! never got on the BB bandwagon though, simply because I don’t use them. the only one I ever liked was from Vichy, and even then I only use it occasionally! :S

    • I tried Vichy and unfortunately it was too light and didn’t adjust to my color properly. I’m like you though Bee – BBs aren’t really my thing but after trying this Lioele one I’m quite surprised. I may purchase another one that I’ve been researching on, but a bit later. Too much beauty junk to review 😉

  2. Oh, goody! It’s working out so well for you 🙂 It was a tad bit dark and yellow on me. I wished you had taken the other one too (you know, I somehow had a 2nd tube) because I think it may be difficult to come by?

    • Thanks Lyn! I can order it online though so I think should be OK. I’m still waiting to finish it up before I purchase another BB cream that I’ve been wanting to test.

  3. Hi! Thanks for posting on this- I’ve been thinking of buying it.. What’s your MAC shade? Do you think it would be fine for a NC/NW25? Thanks 😀

    • Hey Annabelle, thank you for dropping by. I’m an NC/NW25 myself, leaning more on the NC side. I find this a shade greyer than what I’d normally get but it oxidises to my color, and I set it with Bare Escentuals’ Mineral Veil. I have gone out without setting it and it’s fine as well 🙂 I’ve got normal-oily skin too. Hope this helps!

  4. Bit late for me to drop a comment but here goes! 🙂 I’ve never tried Lioele but have recently discovered a Korean BB cream in a close-to-my-skin shade. It’s the Innisfree eco safety BB cream spf34 for men! Yes, for men! It’s a tad darker than normal BB creams, a muddy brown colour but goes on looking natural. I’m a NC30 btw.

Leave a Reply

