Home

Happy Monday, ladies! We kick off what is going to be a busy week with a guest post from our photographer friend SdV in Melbourne. Enjoy!

Love, dom and ksuan

Photo courtesy of skinsecretsexposed.com

I picked this Neutrogena cleanser up after spotting it at my local Woolworths, the bright pink was really cute and I was after something new. I’ve been using a Clinique Cleanser for oily skin as well as Soap and Glory Rub Your Nose In It Pore Scrub which resulted in bumps along the forehead. I have suffered from acne since I was a child and while it has receded quite a bit, I still want softer, smoother, healthier looking skin. So does this cleanser do its job?

The Neutrogena website states:-

The #1 dermatologist recommended acne-fighting cleanser-Neutrogena® Oil-Free Acne Wash now comes with an uplifting blast of pink grapefruit! With maximum strength Salicylic Acid acne medicine boosted by MicroClear® technology, Neutrogena® Oil-Free Acne Wash Pink Grapefruit Facial Wash powerfully treats and helps prevent breakouts—even blackheads. This unique formula contains 100% naturally derived grapefruit extract plus vitamin C. It eliminates oil and dirt, and rinses clean without over-drying.

It claims to be oil-free and non-comedogenic, contains ‘microclear’ technology and salicylic acid to combat acne.

I am always a little sussed with products claiming some new-fangled technology. It’s basically soap with various chemicals, retailing for about AUD 15.00, which isn’t too bad on the wallet. I’ve been using it for more than two months now and there’s still a lot of product left. It also comes in a pump container which executes a good dose to lather up.

What I really love is the grapefruit, aloe vera and chamomile extract which gives it such a fresh scent- anyone who uses it will positively glow with citrus flavour for at least a couple of hours. While it can be overpowering, it really wakes you up in the morning.
I’ve definitely seen an improvement in my skin – it gets rid of the bumps on my forehead and leaves my cheeks looking much cleaner. The product does leave a slightly oily residue regardless of how much I try to wash it away but I think this is what contributes to making my skin feel softer afterwards. So big plus points.

Various users have claimed that the product leaves their skin really dry- but since I already have a tendency to have dry skin, especially around the mouth, I always follow up with my Clinique moisturiser, therefore I haven’t had much of a problem.

So would I buy this again? In all likelihood yes, although I also really want to try Neutrogena’s Wave Sonic Spinning Power-Cleanser. So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

