Home

Happy Monday, ladies! Let’s start the week off with a positive, upbeat post about a makeup removal product that I absolutely love – the Bourjois Eau Micellaire Demaquillante (sorry ladies, link is in French but I’ll translate as best as I can in this entry!).

Photo courtesy of bourjois.fr

So, what exactly is micellar water? I’ll try to explain.

Translated very roughly from the Bourjois France website,

“Micellar water allows for more effective and complete makeup removal than a regular makeup remover, but with a gentler, softer feel.  Thanks to its micelle (cleansing agents which gently capture impurities)-rich formulation, Bourjois Micellar Cleansing Water removes makeup with the very first swipe. White lotus (nymphaea alba) extracts, with soothing and hydrating properties, comforts skin. Hypoallergenic, this micellar water is formulated without alcohol or fragrance to assure optimal skin tolerance.”

Does that sound good, or what. Getting down to business, this is what I’ve discovered about the eau micellaire:

Formula: There are a few things I love about the eau micellaire’s formula, the lack of fragrance or alcohol among them. I’ve checked out eau micellaire offerings from many other French brands like Vichy and ROC, and they all suffer that awful fatal flaw of smelling like a gargantuan bouquet of flowers, which I find terrifically offputting. Bourjois’ offering is a real breath of fresh (unscented) air in that regard. I also love that this formulation is oil-free and water-based, leaving no residue on skin after use.

Performance: When it comes to effective, quick, easy makeup removal, three cotton pads and a little eau micellaire goes a long, long way. Takes all of three minutes, too – perfect. However, if you want a product that removes all forms of face makeup including waterproof mascara, I would suggest you search for an alternative product. Eau micellaire is not for use on the eyes, only for the rest of the face. And what a fine job it does getting rid of anything from lightweight tinted moisturiser to heavyweight liquid foundation and concealer. Afterward, my skin always feels so soothed, clean and comfortable, without any of that post-soap squeaky and slightly tight, uncomfortable business.

Pour conclure, I would strongly recommend this product to those of you who seek a gentle, non-abrasive, oil-free, light and easy method of getting rid of makeup at the end of the day. What’s not to love about a product that is so kind to skin, yet so effective? I’m quite taken by this Bourjois offering and will definitely be repurchasing when I run out.

I bought my rather hulking 250ml bottle (it even says ‘MAXI FORMAT’ on the bottle, to my amusement) of eau micellaire at  a BHG outlet near my place at a promotional price of SGD 11.90. Now, it retails at SGD 14.90, which I reckon is a pretty decent price, all things considered. It’s also good bang for your buck as you don’t need very much of it each time you use it. I’ve had my bottle for about a month now and used the stuff every day since purchasing, yet it’s only a quarter of the way depleted.

Little warning: the bottle does leak on occasion so no storing horizontally, and best to decant into a smaller, more portable, preferably non-leaky bottle for travel purposes!

Lastly, here’s the ingredient list for those of you who’re interested:

AQUA (WATER), GLYCERIN, PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE, POLOXAMER 184, COCO-GLUCOSIDE, PHENOXYETHANOL, TETRASODIUM EDTA, SODIUM METHYLPARABEN,CITRIC ACID, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, BHT, NYMPHAEA ALBA ROOT EXTRACT, 09BSV001-1

2 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Eau Micellaire Demaquillante (Micellar Cleansing Water)

  1. Woot, sounds promising! I just restocked on my usual makeup remover but this is cheaper than the one I’m using right now so I think I’m gonna try this the next time! Thanks for the comprehensive review, hun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

