Home

I may have mentioned before that I have crazy hair. No? Well, my hair’s dry, coarse and frizzy with a bit of wave. So whenever I see shampoo for dry hair, frizzy hair, or to straighten your hair, I buy it almost immediately (because I’m a huge sucker that way).

It’s kinda obvious, right?

This is a mini set that you can get for around RM69 or 79? For my price range, it was tolerable because I’ve been meaning to try this, and it came with a hair mask and a comb! OK the comb wasn’t really a pull factor but I’ll take all I can.

The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture hair care set is formulated without parabens, silicones and colorants, making it the perfect pseudo almost-organic, Earth-friendly set you could possibly purchase. There’s no discernible fragrance, except that signature TBS scent of being very clean and organic (sorry, I know my descriptions could bear a bit more words but until they create scratch-sniff capabilities via the Interwebs…it’s basically just the clean, not really herby but kind of natural-organic smell). Point being, it wasn’t unpleasant :). Anyhoo it’s got a label saying it’s eco-friendly, so big props to TBS. Even the comb is 100% recycled.

So we’ve got the comb on top, shampoo, conditioner and hair mask (sorry, Hair Butter). All these are in travel-friendly sizes, which is great for those short trips. Formulated with pracaxi oil, manketti nut oil and Community Trade honey, this set is meant to restore moisture and improve hair softness with a smooth, shiny finish. All the ingredients are used for their moisturizing properties.

The verdict?

1) Shampoo: Not loving this too much. It doesn’t cleanse my scalp properly and my scalp itches after this, so I wouldn’t use this again.

2) Conditioner: It’s an OK conditioner – am pretty ambivalent about this. It wasn’t as moisturizing as my previous conditioner and it wasn’t really a good detangler, but it did work ok-ish.

3) Mask/Butter: This one was better. But I did have to use gobs of it because of my long, thick hair.

In short?

It wasn’t as moisturizing as I thought it would be, and it didn’t really leave my hair soft and shiny. To be fair…my hair texture really is quite stubborn and my hair is the kind that won’t even straighten properly with a GHD straightener and heat protection. The only time I got silky, straight hair with a straightener was when I was in Australia, but I could chalk it to the nice weather, hard water (which is weird, considering that hard water tends to muck up your hair more), diet, hormones, etc.

I think this would work better on those with finer hair strands. It also works better if your hair isn’t as coarse as mine. I’ve got very strong, individual strands of wiry hair. I felt like I had to use a lot of product just to get it moisturized, and I think that’s a waste of money! Dove worked better for me in the moisturizing department.

I don’t want to trash this line unnecessarily because there are going to be those who love it. The hair butter worked OK for me but I’d give a miss on the shampoo and conditioner.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner Mini Set

  1. What a shame. I had high hopes for these, but I wasn’t prepared to be the guinea pig. I have curly hair that goes frizzy at the first hint of heat or moisture. Thanks for your honest review!

    • Hi Olgie! Thanks for stopping by. I think you can’t go wrong with most hair masks or butters, but they could work on the formula to be a bit richer for us.

    • Hi Celeste, thanks for dropping by. Yeah, I find that silicone-based products work best for dry/frizzy hair, but I’ve yet to find something that doesn’t really break the bank o.0

Leave a Reply

