Home

My experience with Revlon as far as lipstick goes has been very positive, as evinced by my love for their Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rose and Shine. So after reads and re-reads of Paris B’s rave Revlon Colorburst Lipstick reviews (overview, Peach, Mauve, True Red and Blush), I got curious. Upon waltzing into Watson’s, I found that there was a new range of lipstick and lipgloss colours available under the Colorburst range. Naturally, I had to check them out.

Thanks to a promotion that I couldn’t refuse (SGD 5 off the regular retail price! Hurray for sales!), I ended up walking away with my very own Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in 012 Cherry Ice, one of five the newly-launched lipstick shades.

The website says that Colorburst offers:

Instant burst of rich, true color with a featherlight feel

Elasticolor™ technology provides immediate color release and hugs lips with a burst of weightless color that feels like a second skin

So does it? Let’s start by talking colour.

Cherry Ice, true to its name, appears a bright,  highly pigmented and cheerful pink-based red with a generous amount of shimmer when you look at it in the tube. It swipes a little differently, though.

L-R: One swipe, three swipes.

As the swatches show, Cherry Ice comes off quite sheer, but with a lovely pop of colour and sheen. It layers on beautifully as well, if you are after a more intense red. Because it’s sheer and layer-friendly, I would suggest this over the matte and opaque True Red if you’re just foraying into red lips 🙂 I find a single layer of Cherry Ice works well for the daytime and an additional layer or two does wonders for an evening look.

Some of you girls may wonder if shade-wise, Cherry Ice is a dupe for Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in 62 Monte Carlo, which I previously reviewed here. Look no further, here’s your answer. Apologies for the terrifically bad lighting in this shot 😦

As you can see here, Cherry Ice and Monte Carlo have a similarly sheer, shimmering finish – but Cherry Ice is markedly cooler than Monte Carlo. I also found that pigment-wise, Cherry Ice packs a more pronounced colour punch than Monte Carlo.

Now, feel and texture: light? Absolutely. Smooth? Definitely. Comfortable? Extremely. Non-drying? Pretty decent. This is starting to sound close to perfect as far as lipsticks go, right?

Well, sadly, staying power, as with many sheer lippies, is just alright. Unlike another red shade that I tried and loved (the recently-reviewed Chanel Rouge Coco in 22 Paris), Cherry Ice (particularly the sheen – the pigment hangs around a bit longer and stains the lips semi-decently) doesn’t hold up terrifically valiantly, especially when it’s warm out. However, because it’s half the price of a Rouge Coco, I am quite happy to touch up as often as need be – which is about every three to four hours and after a few beverages/every meal.

A little note on the packaging – I have to commend Revlon on successfully making their pocket-friendly products look so classy. The matte criss-cross quilted case adds a nice little touch of elegance to the lipstick. It even clicks shut with that satisfying sound that I am so partial to. The plastic case is also quite sturdy – good for klutzy girls like me, who have the unfortunate habit of dropping things!

Pour conclure, a worthwhile buy 🙂 I purchased mine at SGD 16.90 (after a SGD 5.00 discount at Watsons). Even then, at a reasonable regular price of SGD 21.90, I would definitely repurchase. Now, I’m tempted to go after other colours in the range! 😉 Wish my willpower and wallet all the luck in the world resisting temptation!

Meanwhile, happy Monday, dear readers! Here’s to surviving the week ahead!

Revlon Colorburst Lipsticks’ five new shades are Icy Nude, Petal, Pink Sugar, Cherry Ice and Candy Pink.

16 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Colorburst Lipstick in 012 Cherry Ice

    • Hello there Paris 🙂 I love the everyday glazed-over red too. Brings a bit of brightness to the blacks and navy blues I constantly wear to work!

    • Aww, thanks Kira! Really like your site too 🙂 How are you finding Cherry Ice? Are you planning on reviewing it anytime soon?

    • Gasp, have I found a (beauty) soul sister? Be still my beating heart. My nail polish obsession is also threatening to engulf me completely.

  1. That’s such a pretty shade. A couple of my Revlon Colorburst lippies are really soft and one broke off, so just be careful as they don’t fit as tightly at the base.

    • Thanks for letting me know, Lyn! I tote mine around in my purse a lot and I’m beginning to notice it slowly slipping too 😦 Hopefully it doesn’t fall apart, I’d be quite sad if it did.

  2. I think I’ve been reading too many positive reviews about this lipstick including yours! I finally caved in and got one in Peach yesterday. Saw the new colours, I want them all too!!!

    • Hi Aney! 🙂 Do let us know what you think of Peach. It’s pretty but I don’t think I could pull off that shade with my fair skin – the look works on Paris B, but somehow every time I wear a particularly warm-toned lip colour, I look very washed out 😦

  3. Pingback: Review: L’Oreal Color Riche Made for Me Intense Lipstick in 297 Red Passion « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

