Home

I’m not one to splurge on beauty finds (well, except for my Estee Lauder ANR, Clinique Turnaround Concentrate, and Urban Decay’s Naked…three ain’t bad right?), but when Bodybar Skin Care had their online warehouse clearance sale with selected items going at RM10 each, I immediately wandered into their website.

“No, I am not going to buy anything. I don’t use organic skin care. The last time I bought something from them wasn’t that great. RM10 can still get me half a bottle of Neutrogena cleanser!”

I ended up purchasing 4 items. Self-restraint an epic fail…and here’s my review on one of my purchases:

Mukti’s Macadamia & Honey lip balm comes in a hefty 15g container and originally retails at RM42.00 at Bodybar. According to the Bodybar website, it’s been voted the best lip balm in the world (o.0 really?). Mukti is made in Australia and is tagged as naturally organic skincare.

Let’s cut to the chase.

I absolutely love this lip balm. So much that I think I might be willing to fork out RM42.00 for it.

It’s got a beautiful texture – firm-ish yet spreadable. I think the heat from my finger warmed it up and made it more emollient. It feels a little bit like a sugar scrub with little sugar scrubby particles and the best part is its taste. It tastes so good.

Upon application, I could taste honey, a bit of sweetness, some mandarin peel, balanced out by the waxiness of macademias. Definitely the first three came up tops and the macademia scent/taste was more mellow, but it’s there.Talk about an incentive to continuously put on lip balm! Yummerz.

Another part that’s got me super excited is how soft my lips felt after application. My lips didn’t dry out or crack like how some lip balms do, and it didn’t feel super greasy. It just tasted yummy and made my lips feel soothed and comfortable.

Finally, the all-important ingredients list: Certified Organic Macadamia (Macadamia Ternifolia) Oil; Certified Organic Beeswax (Cera Alba); Certified Organic Raw Honey (Mel); Certified Organic Oils of Jojoba (Simmondsia Chinensis), Calendula (Calendula Officinalis), Rosehip (Rosa Canina), Grapefruit (Citrus Grandis), Mandarin (Citrus Nobilis) & Orange (Citrus Sinensis).

Can’t find anything wrong in that list!

The only con is its packaging. In a pot package, it’s less hygienic to scoop out with fingers and because it’s got so many natural oils and extracts, who knows what germs you would’ve transferred into the oils if you’re not careful. Sometimes I end up with a little too much on my fingers and I don’t want to put it back, so I end up slathering it all over my lips and it actually does become a bit like a sugar scrub. I do wonder if it’s practical to put it in a tube form because this isn’t a firm, lip-balm-in-a-tube texture. It’s really like densely compacted wet sand (pardon the lack of description).

So yes,  yes, a serious contender to become my HG lip balm. I’m still trying to finish my other balms but at RM42.00 for a huge pot (15g), I’d say it’s a great buy!

Leave a Reply

