Home

Dear Soap and Glory Spa Sugar Crush Body Scrub,

Drenched from Bangkok downpour, I wandered, sopping wet into that small Boots outlet, hoping for a little refuge and a redeeming bit of retail therapy. Face to face I came with the Soap and Glory shelves in all their beauty, and there I stood enthralled at the rows and rows of pink bottles and tubs – then my eye caught on to some blue, and I found you. It was intrigue, mystery, curiosity at first sight. And that infatuation quickly blossomed into love.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

Alright, enough of the Ode to Sugar Crush Body Scrub language. It is very telling of my adoration for this scrub, though. I normally don’t love nor use body scrubs (barring St Ives’ Apricot Scrub, a perennial family favourite since I was a little girl), but this one has rapidly earned a HG spot in my books.

First and foremost, this scrub smells absolutely heavenly. The lightly tangy sweet lime scent combines with the earthy -sweet smell of the scrub’s brown sugar base and the nutty, creamy almond oil to create a rather delectable smell that is almost good enough to eat! In fact, the smell is what made me choose it over Soap and Glory’s other body scrub offerings, Scrub ‘Em and Leave ‘Em and Flake Away. It makes the scrubbing down process so much more enjoyable, and the scent lingers delicately on skin afterward. So far, no one has complained about that little fringe benefit πŸ™‚

This scrub also really does the job – and then some. You don’t ever need to use very much for this stuff to work – just a small dollop scooped out lightly with two fingers is enough for an entire arm. Gently rubbing it in a circular motion on damp skin causes the sugar to melt a little from body heat, and the almond oil emulsifies a little and turns creamy off-white as it is worked into the skin. While the sugar grains exfoliate gently, the macadamia grains (which are larger) work on the roughest and driest spots on skin without being abrasive as they are tempered by the melting sugar and almond oil.

This scrub also rinses off very cleanly and easily. There’s no oily residue, the sugar and macadamia particles don’t cling to skin after scrubbing. My skin is always left feeling soft, smooth and comfortable. No need for body lotion afterward because the almond oil has sealed in plenty of moisture, too!

With semi-regular (twice a week, thrice if I feel like I need an extra bout of pampering), this scrub has markedly helped soften my roughened elbows and knees, and helped ease the skin on my back and chest of small comedones. All the buffing off of dead and dry skin cells has also helped to smoothen the skin on my legs, making shaving a breeze and ensuring no nicks or cuts (which I am extremely prone to, as a resident klutz queen).

Pour conclure, I won’t repeat myself and bore you with further declarations of love for Spa Sugar Crush! I will tell you ladies to give this scrub a try for yourselves if you have the chance, and if/when you do, let us know if you agree!

I purchased this very generous 450ml tub of goodness for THB 370 (about MYR 35.00, or SGD 18.00), which is truly affordable for a product of this caliber. Now, if only I could find it at Sephora outlets in Singapore…

Ingredients: Glycerin, Sucrose,Polysorbate 20, PEG-100 Stearate, Butylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Benzyl Alcohol, Macadamia Integrifolia Shell Powder, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Citrus Aurantifolia (Lime) Oil, Citral, Limonene, Glyceryl Stearate, Linalool, Parfum (Fragrance)

7 thoughts on “Review: Soap and Glory Spa Sugar Crush Body Scrub

  1. Bonjour! =)

    We now have this in Msia, hurrah! One little itty bitty question though. When you say it has a “lightly tangy sweet lime scent’… does it smell citrusy, like tangy citrus? Or it is more of a ice lemon tea scent?

    Because I DO NOT LIKE citrus scents. =( But lemon tea I can live with. Lol.

    • Salut Syen! To answer your question, it’s not super citrusy. Think of it as the scent of a sweet lime-flavoured candy. It’s not zesty the way grapefruit-scented products are. It’s a bit tricky to explain scents in words, but hope that gives you a slightly better idea!

  2. Yeah, so upset when I couldn’t find it in Singapore’s Sephora!!!! I wanted to get this after after reading about it, I can’t find Flake Away anymore too (Sephora Ion) so I got the Scrub ‘Em & Leave ‘Em, which I don’t fancy. The scent is too ‘cologne-y’.

    • Hi Aney! Good to see you here again πŸ™‚ That’s a shame – but does Scrub ‘Em and Leave ‘Em work well as a scrub, cologne-y scent notwithstanding? And eep, I didn’t realise Flake Away wasn’t available at Ion 😦 Maybe time to take a roadtrip up north and scour the hallowed aisles of Sephora KL? πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Guest Review: SdV Takes On Soap and Glory’s Scrub Your Nose In It and Flake Away « belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

