Home

Ksuan and I had a conversation about looking good for work, and we agreed that polished nails definitely round up a chic work look. Nude or neutral colors tend to work best if you’re staying on the safe side, but I have on occasion used colors like purple or deep maroon on my toenails.

However, before applying nail polish, nails should be in good condition – no split corners or breaks, buffed and clean of any dirt. I’ve struggled with cracking nails especially on my toenails, as I was too much of a tomboy back in my young and teen years. ’til today I’m quite embarassed to show of my toenails because they’re a little…deformed? Malformed? – well, not very pretty-looking as I have cracks running across the nails. So what can I do?

I ran across this product in Sasa Midvalley and thought that I could use a bit of a booster to help my nails:

Sally Hansen Hard As Nails in Clear

With the tagline “The Nail Clinic in a Bottle!”, I was hooked! Plus the reasonable price of RM19.90 for 0.45 fl ounces sealed the deal for me. There were other nail treatments by Sally Hansen as well but when I looked at the ingredients list, they shared pretty much the same ingredients, with a few additions but at a much higher price. So budget-ole me went for this instead.

Unlike the usual nail polishes, I found this to be a tad bit runnier but no less viscous. It’s meant to give your nails a protective barrier so that your nails can grow without breaking. The instructions were to apply 1-2 coats, all the way to the nail edges and underneath if possible. I’ve used this for about a month now, consistently reapplying after it gets chipped off. On my toes I’ve used this as a base coat and it worked pretty well in that department.

So far though, this product hasn’t really wowed me. I don’t think it added any nutrients to my nails to make it stronger, but my nails did feel a bit harder after application. I reckon this would really work if you have very brittle nails but mine have crack lines in the first few layers of nail due to weird walking habits and sports. It helped a little in ensuring that the nails didn’t crack further but I was hoping for a bit more than that – better growth, harder nails, but it didn’t really bring much improvement.

Since this is supposed to be the “‘Nail Clinic in a Bottle”, I think what makes it different from ordinary nail polishes is that it allows your nail to breathe. At least my nails aren’t turning yellow from all the polish I’ve been putting on it.

So yay or nay? Mmm, I’m on the fence. Wish I could love it, and I might buy it if it’s on special. Most likely not though.

In case you’re curious, here’s the ingredient list: butyl acetate, ethyl acetate, isopropyl alco, nitrocellulose, adipic acid/neopentyl glycol/trimellitic anhydride copolymer, n-Butyl alco, trimethyl pentanyl diisobutyrate, camphor, benzophenone-1, D&C Violet no. 2.

Available in Sasa for RM19.90. I’m sure you can find it in Watsons as well.

2 thoughts on “Review: Sally Hansen Hard As Nails

  1. I have bought it from Watsons KLCC if i remember well, same price. But it was not a quality product, as far as i’m concerned 😦
    Thanks for the review, sweetie!

    • No worries :). It’s not a bad product but probably can find better ones. This is nice if you’re on a budget.

Leave a Reply

