Home

Hey girls, hope the weekend treated you all beautifully! Today’s post will be all about lips πŸ™‚

While some girls may adore the dramatic lip (hello Paris and your fuchsia lip colours, and Kahani and your reds!), I am not one of them. My genes dictate that I have rather full lips, and bright, eye-catching lip colours only serve to enhance that. Again, some girls love the Angelina Jolie effect, but I prefer the opposite.

I love makeup, but I believe that its purpose is to enhance our existing features, not profoundly alter them. Accordingly, when it comes to all things lip-related – from lipsticks through glosses to stains to tinted balms, my key criterion in picking out a product is polish. I believe that a truly flattering lip product should always produce a polished, put-together, subtle-yet-pretty result. The aim is not for lips to proclaim “Look at me!”, but “This is me :)”, if you will.

For those reasons, I always find myself gravitating strongly towards a range of shades so often described in the beauty blogosphere as My Lips But Better colours.

So what exactly makes a product a My Lips But Better (MLBB) product, you might ask?

Well, when I think of MLBB products, I automatically think of the eloquent Eli of So Loverly and what she once said when talking about Lipstick Queen’s Saint Sheer Lipstick in Rust (which is, sans aucun doute, an MLBB product):

that it β€œseem(ed) very subdued and discreet but they still draw attention to your lips”, and that if you were to β€œ… wear this on a date… the poor sap won’t be able to keep his eyes off your lips”.

That, my dear friends, is what I consider the hallmark of a brilliant MLBB product – be it a gloss, balm, stain or lipstick. If it manages to do what Eli described, it’s a winner.

Here’s a peek at four lipsticks in my small arsenal – all of which I consider MLBB material, despite their differences.

As you can see from the swatches themselves, each individual shade is different but they seem to play on the same theme – subtle, sheer, neutral, wearable. They all go from day to night with great ease, and are so easy to match to any outfit or any occasion! They also go equally beautifully with a barely-there natural look as they do with a dramatic smokey eye. (I also realise that the MAC Lustre in Sweetie looks alarmingly pink at first glance, but when applied and contrasted against skin, it doesn’t glide on that bright at all!)

I’ve already written detailed reviews of Clinique High Impact Lipstick in Nearly Violet and Clinique Long Last Soft Matte Lipstick in Creamy Nude – reviews of my most recent acquisitions – MAC Lustre Lipstick in Sweetie and Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rose and Shine – are coming soon!

Pour conclure, I think I will always be an MLBB girl. What about you? We love hearing comments and feedback from all of you πŸ™‚ So do share with us – what are some of your go-to MLBB products and why do you love them? Are there any you would recommend we check out for ourselves? And if you’re not an MLBB girl, tell us why – convince me to give siren red a fair go! πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “According to Us: My Lips But Better

  1. I’m an MLBB girl too despite loving bright eyeshadows. I don’t have a very defined lip shape and my lips are pretty pale to begin with so lip colors easily look bright on me. Occasionally I’d go for nudes but usually with stronger eyes.

    • Hi there Connie!

      Glad to find a kindred spirit πŸ˜‰ I’m not brave enough to pull off the bright eyeshadowed look like you though, and you execute that so beautifully, too. I stick to a strong eyeliner and a moderately smokey eye, and that’s about as far as I generally dare to venture.

    • Hey there Aney!

      Nice to meet yet another fellow MLBB lover πŸ™‚ You should Clinique’s Creamy Nude a shot, it’s very pretty. And if you prefer something with a bit more of a pink undertone, they have one called Blushing Nude which is just as lovely. πŸ™‚

  2. Somedays I’m an MLBB girl, then some days I’m into bright corals and some days I’m into pinks (although I’m hardly ever brave enough to venture into fuchsias and reds.lol).

    On days when I’m into MLBB though, MAC Hug Me, MAC High Tea, Estee Lauder Dune Rose, Chanel Boy and a couple of others are what I would be reaching for.

    • Hello there Syen πŸ™‚ Always so nice to see you here πŸ™‚

      I actually tried MAC Hug Me and it really did not work with my skin tone, despite it being so pretty in the tube, sigh. I will definitely mosey about and check out High Tea though! πŸ™‚ I actually tried Dune Rose and loved it on the back of my hand, but it washed me out every so slightly when applied to lips 😦

Leave a Reply

