Home

I mentioned a few entries ago that I’d gone on a bit of a spree and bought four drugstore mascaras during my December/January travels, three of which I have reviewed here: CoverGirl Lash Blast Volume Blasting Mascara, Revlon Fabulash Mascara, Maybelline Full ‘N Soft Mascara in waterproof.

To round up the list, here’s my take on L’Oréal Voluminous Naturale Mascara in Blackest Black.

If I could sum up how I feel about this mascara in one word, it would be this: tepid. Keep reading to find out why.

Here’s what it claims to do:

… for lashes with natural-looking volume and perfect definition. The lightweight volumizing formula glides on smoothly and evenly to enhance fullness. The Volumizing Definition Brush perfectly builds and defines lashes, without clumps.

  • Smudge-proof, flake-proof and fragrance-free
  • Opthalmologist-tested and allergy-tested
  • Suitable for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers
  • Water resistant

So let’s see how this one fared.

This is one of those mascaras with a funky rubber brush with spiky, short bristles. Unlike the robust and chunky (yet rather effective, once you get the hang of it) rubber brush boasted by CoverGirl’s Lash Blast Volume Blasting Mascara, however, L’Oréal’s offering is much leaner. This makes it nice and easy to maneuver without constant fear of prodding one’s eye – however, it is, construction-wise, fatally flawed: it’s flimsy. I get slightly nervous dipping the brush back into the tube because it is bendy as anything, and I’m always afraid I’ll snap it by accident on a klutzy day (which, in my world, is most every day).  A few other reviews I read on the web had the same gripe – some reviewers even admitted, begrudgingly, that they’d broken their brushes. Whoops.

But does the brush, so glamourously named the Volumizing Definition Brush, really build and define lashes without clumping? It does, to a degree. Is it worth the extravagant name? Not particularly. Like most other mascaras, it took me two to three coats for the mascara’s effects to be really visible. Definition-wise, this brush does an okay job – nothing spectacular. Also, there was slight clumping, but the brush helped take the splotchy bits away pretty easily. Kein problem.

Final effect-wise, this mascara’s formula is so-so. Like I said, about two to three coats for a nice, darkened-and-thickened lashes effect – pretty standard. It also felt quite light on the lashes, which was pleasant. I found, though, that for a mascara that proclaims itself to be “naturale”, my lashes looked spidery, and not soft, after application. Unfortunately, spidery doth not naturale make.

Staying power-wise, it does get a little flaky and sloughs off over the course of the day. To its credit, though, it doesn’t smudge. It also irritated my eyes a tiny bit, but nothing beyond making them water a little.

Pour conclure, tepid is definitely how I feel about this mascara. It’s alright, but there isn’t much more to say about it than that. Sad to say, this mascara goes on the growing list of drugstore mascaras I wouldn’t endorse to my friends. I bought my tube for USD 7.00 at Bed, Bath and Beyond – not too expensive, pretty comfortably priced as far as drugstore mascaras in the US go. I’d save the money and put it towards a mascara I liked more, though – no doubt about that. And in a final plug for my favourite drugstore mascara to date, I would definitely purchase Maybelline Full ‘N Soft over L’Oréal Voluminous Naturale any day, as both claim to provide a My Lashes But Prettier effect – difference being Maybelline does a far, far superior job.

On that note, I am off to Bangkok tonight for a short work trip! Inspired by the beautiful Syen of So Loverly, I am going to spare some time to scour the hallowed halls of Boots, Watson’s and Guardian outlets while I’m up in the Land of Smiles and hunt down a few products that aren’t (to my knowledge, at least) available in Singapore or Malaysia. Watch this space for upcoming reviews 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: L’Oréal Voluminous Naturale Mascara

  1. Never been a fan of either L’Oreal or Lancome mascaras and I think they both come from the same labs. My lashes look like cockroach legs whenever I use their mascaras. Not very flutter-worthy. And yes, they do flake 😦

    • lol lyn, cockroach legs? that’s a good phrase to use 🙂 thanks for the tip on l’oreal and lancome mascaras!

    • Haha, well said, Lyn! Maybelline is still my favourite (and default) brand for a cheap and reliable mascara – and CoverGirl would be too if they were available here! *grunt complain whine

      – ksuan

Leave a Reply

