Home

Happy Friday, lovely ladies! Hope everyone is looking forward to a wonderful weekend ahead.

Today I’ll be reviewing one of my absolute favourite mascaras in the entire universe: Maybelline Full ‘N Soft Mascara in both washable and waterproof variants.

Here’s what Maybelline says this little tube of goodness can do for your lashes:

Why You’ll Love It

  • Builds full, healthy-looking lashes without the brittle feel
  • Prevents loss of lashes with Quick Dissolve System that allows easy mascara removal
  • Advanced thickening formula with Vitamin E helps to soften and nourish lashes
  • No clumps, no globs
  • Contact lens safe and hypoallergenic
  • Waterproof, also available in Washable formula

Does it build full lashes without feeling heavy? Absolutely. All I needed were two gently applied coats for this mascara to work its magic. The result was full, dark, soft, fluttery-light lashes. No tarantula effect, no brittleness – just a gorgeous, feminine definition.  If you’re into the false-eyelash look, give this mascara a miss – but if you want a mascara that will add depth to your eyes in a My Lashes, But More Captivating way, this is the mascara for you.

I found that the Quick Dissolve System and added Vitamin E also helped to keep my lashes from shedding. Removing Full ‘N Soft is a piece of cake, too – on diligent days, I use makeup remover to get rid of both the washable and waterproof varieties, but on lazy days, I find that a little bit of nicely foamed-up cleanser gently (emphasis here because the skin around the eye area is delicate and must always be treated as such!) massaged over the eyelids in circular motion does the trick just as well.

And no clumping or gobs? Thankfully, yes! The formula is thick enough on first use to coat your lashes evenly without clumping, and it doesn’t dry up rapidly once opened. I found that the formulas of both my washable and waterproof variants stayed consistent for almost 9 months, which is ages in the world of a product that should ideally be disposed of 3 months after first use.

Wear-wise, Full ‘N Soft lasts comfortably throughout the 8-hour workday. It does flake a little towards the end of the day if you have oily lids, but that’s to be expected – no mascara formula is perfectly equipped to handle sebum onslaught!Re-application and touching up is easy, anyway.

As you can see from the picture above, the brush is nothing particularly special, but I do like it. The bristles are closely interspersed enough that a strong, deliberate stroke gets you plenty of lash coverage – yet not so closely packed together that it causes clumping.

Also – and this is important – no allergic reactions from my end. I have pretty sensitive eyes that swell up like a goldfish’s at any sign of trouble (plus I wear contact lenses!) but Full ‘N Soft has never given me any problems. Understandably, though, reactions to products occur on a strict case-by-case basis – so knowing what chemicals or substances you are sensitive to is the most important consideration (and always, always reading the ingredient list) when trying out any product!

Last but definitely not least, this mascara is also extremely affordable. I purchased my first washable tube in Australia (at Big W!) for about AUD 16.99 – but I got my second tube from the US at only USD 6.99. I have been wishing, ever since I discovered this gem of a mascara, that they would bring it to Asia at a similarly affordable price – but no such luck yet. Let’s hope they bring it around soon – but meanwhile, nudge a friend in the US or Australia and get them to send you one! Maybe you will like yours as much as I do mine 🙂

Have a very happy weekend, girls!

10 thoughts on “Review: Maybelline Full ‘N Soft Mascara – Washable and Waterproof Formulas

  1. They used to sell this in Malaysia many, many years ago and it was my staple! Your review reminded me that I purchased one in Australia last year, so I may well dig it out to use soon 🙂

    • Hello there Lyn! 🙂

      Hurray, bless Aussieland for having these beauties. I really wish they would sell them here though, they’re so great and such good value for money as well. I’m already wondering what I’ll do once I run out of my current tube of waterproof *bites nails nervously

      – ksuan

  2. I LOVE THIS STUFF. Doesn’t flake or smudge and looks incredibly natural too. Used to buy mine from Big W as well when I was in Australia. *sigh*

    Stage Angel Lash is a pretty close replacement though.

    • Ooh thanks for the dupe recommendation Eli… must check that one out soon 🙂

      Meanwhile, I cling to the last remnants of my waterproof tube. 😦

      – ksuan

    • Hi Mandy,

      Thanks for reading! Holding curl-wise, both mascaras do a decent job but I daresay a curl holds for a little longer with the waterproof formula. I would still suggest using an eyelash curler beforehand though, if you’re really after a good hold!

      – ksuan

  3. Pingback: Review: L’Oréal Voluminous Naturale Mascara « belle demoiselle

  4. Pingback: Review: Silkygirl Lash Curler Waterproof Film Mascara | belle demoiselle

  5. Pingback: Evurl Bloggers Entry: ksuan’s Perfect Beauty Box | belle demoiselle

  6. Pingback: Quickie Picture Post: ksuan’s Tote-Abouts | belle demoiselle

Leave a Reply

