Home

I recently wrote about one of my purchases from philosophy, The Supernatural Windows to the Soul Eyeshadow Palette in Plum Delicious.  So taken was I with it that I ended up scouring Strawberrynet again and succumbing to philosophy’s siren call once more.

Here’s a little rundown on my second shot at philosophy: The Supernatural Lit from Within Healthy Cream Blush compact.

This blush comes in three shades – 01 Bare Your Soul (a nude-toned pink, as seen in the picture above), 02 Feel Warm All Over (a peachy shade that I have a feeling Syen of So Loverly would squeal over), and 03 Look on the Bright Side (a bright, cool pink which reminds me of Bobbi Brown’s blush in Peony). Faced with the choices, I went with the shade that seemed the most versatile and buildable – Bare Your Soul.

So how did I like it?

Before I launch into my account, here’s what Sephora has to say about Philosophy’s efforts at a cream blush:

The Supernatural Lit From Within™ Healthy Cream Blush
What it is:
A cream blush that creates a healthy flush.

What it does:
This super-blendable mineral blush moisturizes, refreshes, and adds a sheer splash of color to the cheeks. Get a seamless, natural-looking glow with this creamy blush.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Phthalates
– Talcs
– Sulfates

Now, this blush looks beautiful in the pan. Bare Your Soul has this warm glowy creamy tone to it that I fell in love with the moment I took it out of the box. Did that glow translate to my cheeks when applied though?

Yes, it did – but I won’t lie, it took a little bit of effort. The good folks at philosophy aren’t joking when they say this blush is sheer. It really is.

You’re supposed to apply cream blushes with a stippling brush for optimal effect, but I find it easier and quicker to just swirl my fingertips in the pan, press them gently to the apples of my cheeks, and blend away. The effect, although less refined, if you will, is similar (and I find I get more bang for colour when using my fingers instead of a brush).

I use my fingertips to apply Lit from Within, and the very first time, it took a good three tries at applying-blending-patting to get the colour to show up the way I wanted it to. Once I got it right, though, I really liked the look. Soft, dewy, subtle – My Skin, But Glowy!

For an added dash of brightness, I layer on a little bit of my Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact in Nectar over it – and the result is oh so very pretty, warm and brightens up the face with such ease; easily one of my favourite blush + highlighter combinations to date!

Also, as an oily/combination skinned girl, I have always been skeptical about cream-based makeup. I was similarly skeptical about purchasing a cream blush, but thought I’d take a chance with this one as philosophy has that wonderful no unnecessary chemical additions principle.

So far, no regrets at all. Lit from Within doesn’t cause my skin to break out, doesn’t clog my pores or cause comedones, doesn’t make skin look oilier, and feels surprisingly light despite being a cream blush.

Pour conclure, I am very happy with my first shot at a cream blush – and my love for philosophy has been further reinforced. This blush retails at USD 22.50, but I purchased mine from Strawberrynet during one of their sales (keep your eyes peeled for them, they’re fabulous value for money!). At USD 14.50 for a rather generous 9g pan, it’s a very affordable and worthwhile buy.

2 thoughts on “Review: Philosophy’s The Supernatural Lit from Within Healthy Cream Blush in 01 Bare Your Soul

  1. Ooooh.. LOL. You got me squealing alright. Thanks for the link chica! I do love me some blush, but I haven’t quite gone into the cream blush scene yet. Some day perhaps. =P

    • No worries chica! 🙂 And mmmm cream blushes are pretty… more so one that doesn’t cause breakouts or blocked pores! Hope you give this one a chance sometime 🙂

      – ksuan

Leave a Reply

